Home Football Vipers SC named contingent to Tunisia

Vipers SC named contingent to Tunisia

Moses Waiswa in action on Saturday (Swift Sports)

Vipers SC hope to write history in Tunisia when they play against home side CS Sfaxien on Sunday in the CAF Confederations Cup, play-off first leg. The two sides played to a barren stalemate in the first leg last Saturday at the St Mary’s stadium, Kitende. The reigning Ugandan champions will be seeking a scoring stalemate or victory to storm to the competition’s group stage for the first time in history. Vipers Coach Michael Nam Ouma named 17 players in the 25-man contingent to Tunisia that has eight officials. FUFA Executive Member Rogers Byamukama will lead the Venoms that depart this Friday aboard Turkish airlines. The players led by Captain Tadeo Lwanga include five defenders, two goalkeepers, four strikers and six midfielders. Ouma was happy with his charges’ display as they stormed the round of 16 in the Stanbic Uganda cup following their 4-0 win at Kansai Plascon at Kitende. “I’m pleased that the team is improving each game. We played well and dominated proceedings right from the start but most importantly is that we won convincingly to advance to the next stage,” he said. Left back Yayo Lutimba and goal keeper Bashir Sekagya miss the Tunisia trip with injuries while Davis Kasirye, Rahmat Senfuka, Joseph Janjali and Noah Wafula did not make the grade. Teenage striker Stephen Mukwala is named for CAF duty for the first time after failing to make the grade in the previous fixtures just as first choice goal keeper Fabien Mutombora, who makes the first continental trip having missed the prior due to injury. Vipers advance team is already in Tunisia to cater for the team’s arrival. The team is expected to return on Tuesday ahead of their StarTimes Uganda premier league first round remaining ties against Mbarara City and URA FC respectively.


Goalkeepers: Fabien Mutombola, Ochan Derrick

Defenders: Mulondo Livingstone, Asiku Bashir, Madoi Aggrey, Wasswa Geofrey, Lwaliwa Halid, Kiyemba Ibrahim

Midfielders: Tadeo Lwanga (C), Nkuubi Brian, Masiko Tom, Waiswa Moses Ndhondi, Sseninde Duncan

Forwards: Tito Okello, Serunkuuma Dan, Mukwala Steven, Ndugwa Abraham

Officials: Rogers Byamukama (LOD), Michael Nam Ouma (Head Coach), Edward Golola (Ass. Coach), Moses Oloya (Goalkeeping Coach), Nyakana Ram (strength/conditioning coach), Kasagga Mathias (physiotherapist), Kyobe Harunah (Club Director), Njuba Simon Peter (official)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here