Home Football Obua leads Lango province against holders Buganda

Obua leads Lango province against holders Buganda

David Obua

FUFA Drum tournament

Saturday, 4pm

Buganda vs Lango, Mukono Bishops SSS


Busoga vs Tooro, Bugembe

Kampala vs Rwenzori, Luzira

West Nile vs Bunyoro, Zombo

Acholi vs Karamoja, Gulu

Ankole vs Sebei, Ntungamo

Bugisu vs Kigezi, Mbale

Bukedi vs Teso, Butaleja

Buganda province Skipper Birikwalira (R) and tournament MVP Vianne Ssekajugo (L) enjoy the trophy moment after being crowned inaugural champions in Arua last year

Former Cranes play maker David Obua will explore his coaching potential further as he takes charge of Lango province in this year’s FUFA Drum tournament that kicks off this weekend at Mukono Bishops SSS.

Lango will visit Buganda province this Saturday afternoon in the season opener which will be graced by the Katikiro (Premier) of Buganda Owek Charles Peter Mayiga as guest of honour, FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo among other football, government officials, corporate world and football lovers.

Lango was in the same group with Buganda last time but could not get out of group B that was led by Acholi to quarter finals with 11 points.

Alex Isabirye

Buganda finished second with 10 points, 2 above Lango in third while Kigezi finished at the foot with 4 points. Obua, who assisted George Nsimbe at Maroons earlier this season before both quit the premier league side , will look to KCCA FC skipper Timothy Awany and exciting Allan Okello for inspiration whilst Joachim Ojera (URA) and Dickens Okwir (Paidha Black Angels) are other reliable tools in his squad he announced. The former Cranes winger took charge of the team on Tuesday and will hope to condemn the defending champions to a false start. With the rich history between Buganda and Lango, the much anticipated opener may live to its billing as Kabaka royals try to win in front of their Katikiro. Lango beat Buganda 3-1 at the same venue last season, thanks to Dickens Okwir’s brace and Peter Wanock goal. Allan Kayiwa headed home Buganda’s consolation off Brian Majwega’s telling cross. However, Buganda paid back with a 1-0 away win in lira during the return leg which was also Buganda’s first win of the inaugural edition in three games. Allan Kayiwa was again the hero as he finished off Emanuel Kalyowa’s cut back in a game Allan Okello was named Man of the match to win an accolade and Shs100,000 cash prize that comes with the feat. Buganda province coach Alex Isabirye summoned a strong 23-man squad for the tournament which will again be commanded by winning Captain Dan Birikwalira. Buganda beat West Nile 2-1 on aggregate over the two-leg final to become inaugural winners. FUFA Drum organizing committee chairman Rogers Byamukama said that no player transfers are allowed in the tournament and that the prizes remain the same. The winner has Shs32m at stake while the runners up has Shs15m. The losing semi finalists have Shs5m and the losing quarter finalists have Shs3m. Each of the participating 16 provinces gets Shs1m while the individual winners take home Shs1m each. The best 11 players in the team of the tournament share Shs11m while each man of the mach on the match day gets Shs100000 cash prize. The thrilling FUFA drum tournament was invented by the local football federation last year to celebrate ancestry, rally patriotism, promoting sports tourism as well unearthing raw talents from remote areas as far as Karamoja. Many business men, political and cultural leaders have embraced the tournament and have supported their respective provinces –with Hon. Connie Nakayenze Galiwango, the Mbale Woman legislator and also Bugisu province’s patron standing out last season.

Buganda Province squad:

Goal keepers: Nicholas Sebwato (Onduparaka), Hannington Sebwalunyo (BUL FC), Joel Mutakubwa (Tooro United)

Others: Ronald Dickson Kigongo (URA FC), Dan Birikwalira (Bright Stars), Enock Walusimbi (Bright Stars), Viane Sekajugo (Onduparaka), Said Kyeyune (URA FC), Allan Kayiwa (Tooro United), Shafik Kagimu (URA FC), Brian Majwega (Maroons FC), Musa Magulu (Kyetume FC), Robert Sentongo (Kyetume FC), Solomon Walusimbi (Maroons FC), Baker Buyala (Tooro United), Juma Balinya (Police FC), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Ezra Kaye (Busula SC), Ivan Serubiri (Free Stars), Dennis Lubowa (Kyetume FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Arafat Galiwango (Police FC) and Rahumatah Kagimu (Seeta United)

Lango province squad:

Goalkeepers: Emma Odongkara (Bukedea TC), Denis Otim (Nyamityobora), Saddam Ogwang, Franco Oringa (Amuka Bright Stars)

Others: Timothy Awany (KCCA), Herbert Achai (KCCA), Ivan Okello (Amuka Bright Stars) Felix Oyari (Amuka Bright Stars), Arwata (Saviors FC), Saddi (Saviors FC),

Emmanuel Ocaa (Saviors FC), Emmanuel Obua (Bukedea TC), John Paul Acire (Nyamityobora), Osama Farouk, Walter Egang (Saviors FC), Abedi Okello (Saviors FC), Joachim Ojera (URA FC), Moses Aliro (Doves All Stars), Denis Omedi (Amuka Bright Stars),

Innocent Maduka (Amuka Bright Stars), Allan Okello (KCCA), Emmanuel Ekol (Saviors FC), Sam Baker (Amuka Bright Stars), Emma Okwir (Amuka Bright Stars), Evans

Oree (Amuka Bright Stars), Lameck Ebong (Nyamityobora), Achai (Saviors), Dickens Okwir (Paidha Black Angels), Pate Wanock (Paidha Black Angels), Christopher Kirya (Amuka Bright Stars), Ivan Nyagkori (Amuka Bright Stars), Ronnie Okullu (JMC Hippos), Fahad, Ekwaro (Saviors FC) Patience Okori (Amuka Bright Stars), Bronson Nsubuga (Maroons FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here