Home Cricket Six nations for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Finals

Six nations for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Finals

The Local organising committee members
The Local organising committee members

Six nations will take part in the 2019 International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s Twenty 20 (T20) World Cup Africa Finals launched on Tuesday at Lugogo Cricket Oval. The tournament is scheduled for May 17-25 at Lugogo and Kyambogo cricket ovals after Uganda landed the honors to host the tournament in October last year. The tournament that will have 15 matches has Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria and hosting Uganda taking part in a single round-robin format. The top two teams will progress to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup qualifier in UAE scheduled from October 11 to November 3 this year.  Paul Kaheru, the Local organizing committee (LOC) chairman is confident that all is set for a successful tournament. “We urge fans to turn for the games and we promise good hospitality for the guest teams,” said Kaheru, who is deputized by Uganda cricket association (UCA) Chief Executive officer (CEO) Martin Ondeko. Kaheru also chaired LOC as Uganda hosted the ICC WCL Div 111 in 2017. The other nine members on the committee are; Hanumat Katkar (stadia), Cissy Musiime (security), Dr Denis Buwembo (medical), Innocent Ndawula (media and communications), Alvin Bagaya (accommodation), Rita Tinka (catering), Grace Mutyagaba (domestic transport) and Denis Musali (liaison). The tournament is funded by ICC with $18,000.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here