Home Football Proline stuns Kyetume to put one foot at the final

Proline stuns Kyetume to put one foot at the final

Action between Kyetume and Proline in Stanbic Uganda Cup on Monday
Action between Kyetume and Proline in Stanbic Uganda Cup on Monday

Stanbic Uganda Cup

Semi final, first leg

Monday result

Kyetume 1-2 Proline

Proline FC set one foot at this season’s Stanbic Uganda Cup final after their 2-1 away win at fellow FUFA Big league side Kyetume at the Nakisunga Ssaza grounds, Mukono on Monday in the semi final, first leg.


Ibrahim Bonyo pounced on Ibrahim Wamanah through ball to slot home the opener after 24 minutes.

Mustafa Mujuzi doubled the lead for the visitors from a gorgeous free kick that left goalkeeper Ismail Zziwa beaten on his line after the break.

Elkanah Ndugwa caught Proline’s defense asleep with a chip that found well placed Robert Ssentongo to beat helpless Hassan Matovu in goal.

“It’s a big win for us. We benefited from the little we know about our opponents but it is not yet over. There are still 90 minutes away,” noted Proline Coach Shafik Bisaso.

Kyetume, who failed to rely on veterans; Vincent Kayizi, Patrick Ochan, Robert Ssentongo and Elkana Ndugwa, will have to score more than twice in the return leg at StarTimes stadium, Lugogo while the Proline youngsters, who already eliminated Premier league sides; Onduparaka and Vipers SC respectively, need to play to a barren draw in order to reach their first ever Cup final.

Proline face Kansai Plascon in a Big league encounter on Thursday at Lugogo and victory seals their automatic  qualification to premier league whilst face Nebbi Central on the same day with victory most ably securing their place to play-offs for the third promotional slot -if group leaders Wakiso Giants at home beat Entebbe to automatically get promoted.

Proline and Kyetume face off on May 5 in the semi final return leg at Lugogo.

Starting XI:

Kyetume FC: Ismail Zziwa, Philemon Lwasa, Benon Tahomera, Moses Magulu, Julius Lule, Deo Isewa, Vincent Kayizi, Patrick Ochan, Denis Lubowa, Faisam Malango, Robert Ssentongo.

Proline FC: Hassan Matovu, James Begisa, Richard Ajuna Noordin Bunjo, Ibrahim Ssendi, Mustafa Mujuzi, Arnold Sserunjoji, Sam Kintu, Joseph Mandela, Ibrahim Wammanah, Ibrahim Bonyo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here