Home Football Kibuli ejected as Kitende whip St Kaggwa to storm quarter finals

Kibuli ejected as Kitende whip St Kaggwa to storm quarter finals

St Mary’s Kitende captain Aziz Kayondo (right) with his St Kaggwa counter before kick off (Kawowo Sports)

Copa Coca Cola Round of 16

Wednesday results

St Mary’s SS Kitende 4-0 St Kaggwa

St Henry’s Kitovu 3-2 St John’s-Mukono

Standard High-Zana 2-0 Kawempe Royal

Buddo SS 2-0 Uganda Martyrs

Masaka SS 0 (3) – (4) 0 Bulo Parents

JIPRA 2 (7) – 2 (6) Kibuli

Jinja SS 2-0 St Julian

St Mary’s SS, Kitende (SMASK) have continued to carry the favorites tag at the ongoing Copa Coca-Cola championship in Jinja after easily defeating a ten-man St Kaggwa side 4-0 in the round of 16 tie at the Mighty Arena, Jinja on Wednesday afternoon.

SC Villa striker Charles ‘Neymar’ Lwanga, defender Jacob Okao, Abdul Karim Watambala and Bobosi Byaruhanga scored the goals for the eight-time Copa champions, who last won the title in 2015.

Lwanga poked home the opener after 25 minutes from an acute angle on the right. Okao calmly scored the second from the spot after a foul on Bobosi Byaruhanga by Dennis Ering to give SMASK a 2-0 first half lead.

Left footed midfielder Watambala struck home a beautiful free-kick for the third goal five minutes into the second half before St Kaggwa were reduced to 10 men following a red for Davis Ahaabwe for a rough tackle on KCCA exciting midfielder Steven Sserwadda.

The fourth goal was another penalty taken by Byaruhanga in the 70th minute after a handball by Christian Tumusiime. Meanwhile, St Henry’s College, Kitovu won 3-2 against Mukono based St John’s High School at Kakindu Stadium.

St Mary’s Kitende and St Henry’s Kitovu joined the already qualified schools for the quarter finals.

The earlier four schools to book their slots at the quarter final stage were; reigning champions Buddo SS, Bulo Parents, Standard High School – Zana and Royal Giants who got a bye to this stage after Nakaseke International was thrown out over use of an ineligible player.

In the evening ties, 2016 winners Jinja SS beat St Julian 2-0 with goals from Isma Mugulusi and Lawrence Tezikya, who netted his 11th of the tournament as joint top scorer. Jinja Progressive academy (JIPRA) beat record champions Kibuli SS 7-6 in penalties after 2-2 normal time draw.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here