Home Football Holders Ssingo register winning start to 2019 Airtel-Masaza Cup

Holders Ssingo register winning start to 2019 Airtel-Masaza Cup

Ssingo XI (Pic by Kawowo Sports)

Airtel-Masaza Cup 2019
Official Opening Match
Ssingo 3-0 Ssese

Defending champions Ssingo started their 2019 Airtel-Masaza football cup with a convincing 3-0 win over Ssese on Saturday at the soggy Ssaza grounds, Mityana.

Kabaka greets some of the officials

Forward Ronald Ssempala, midfielders; Geoffrey Gaganga and Sula Mpanga scored the goals as the two-time champions registered a positive start to title defense.

Kabaka officially opens the 2019 Masaza Cup tournament on Saturday (BBS TV)

Ssempala nodded home the opener in the third minute of the well-attended match graced by the Kabaka (King) of Buganda His Majesty, Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II.

Mpanga shot from a distance ten minutes later, beating goalkeeper Yusuf Bwambale for the second to send the home crowd wild as their side led 2-0 by half time.

After the break, Ssese returned with better performance albeit Denis Mwemeezi and Denis Kalanzi wasting their best opportunities. Ssingo extended their lead through Gaganga after Ssempala’s donkey work on the right.


The bigger part of second half was interrupted by heavy rain despite play continuing until referee Nasser Muhammed Kirya blew the final whistle. Ssingo beat Buddu in penalties during last year’s final at the Namboole stadium as coach Shafik Bsaso won them their second title and his fourth after two with record three-time champions Gomba.

The Airtel-Uganda sponsored tournament continues this Sunday. Centenary Bank, CBS FM, Total Uganda, Engule beer and BBS TV are among the other partners.

Ssingo XI: Derrick Were (G.K), Joseph Data, Ponsiango Ssegonja, George Kiryowa, Steven Dube, Amuli Mukasa, Sula Mpanga, Jackson Ssemugabi, Ronald Ssempala, Abdul Jibril Nsimbe, Geofrey Gaganga
Subs: Arafah Otim (G.K), George Kaddu, Jimmy Kiwanuka, Musisi Ssemugera, Patrick Nsamba, Godfrey Kakooza, John Musasizi

Ssese XI: Yusuf Bwambale (G.K), Alex Nsubuga, Denis Omonyi Kalega, Erasimas Agogo, Sunday Kaweesi, Matendu Katongole, Abraham Sudir, Kenedy Kirembelea, Brian Ade, Denis Mwemeezi, Denis Kalanzi
Subs: Jonathan Ssekajugo, Alithha Nyanja, Ibrahim Ssengooba, William Ssemwogerere, Charles Kiramulea, Frank Yiga, Moses Kamundu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here