Home Football Mubiru to ring changes against South Africa

Mubiru to ring changes against South Africa

Birungi Michael of Uganda challenged by Lesia Thetsane of Lesotho during the 2019 Cosafa Cup match between Lesotho and Uganda at Princess Magogo Stadium, Durban on 01 June 2019 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

2019 COSAFA Cup (Plate Championship):

Tuesday, 4pm

South Africa vs Uganda, Princess Magogo Stadium, Durban

Abdullah Mubiru, the COSAFA Cranes Head coach is expected to make a few changes from the wasteful team that lost to Lesotho in penalties during the quarter finals of the main COSAFA Championship in Durban as the Cranes return to the fold.


Ugandadafaces South Africa this Tuesday in the Plate semi final at Princess Magogo stadium in Durban, South Africa. Like Cranes, Bafana Bafana were also relegated to the plate after bowing out in the quarter finals of the main event last Saturday. Uganda Cranes fell 3-2 to Lesotho in penalties after a goal-less draw. South Africa also lost 5-4 in penalties following a 2-2 draw in normal time. Mubiru, who is in charge for Sebastien Desabre currently camped with the AFCON bound squad in Abu Dhabi, is confident that his charges are focused and ready to make amends. “We are ready to rectify our mistakes from the Lesotho loss when we face South Africa. We watched them play and they are dangerous. They are fast but we know how to use the ball,” noted Mubiru, who confirmed that minimal changes may be made in the starting XI. Striker Daniel Muzeyi Sserunkuma who replaced Daniel Isiagi Opolot ten minutes after restart is most likely to start the game. Although he was only seen on screen replacing non productive Michael Birungi, Paul Mucureezi could start ahead of the former while Allan Kayiwa and Bright Anukani are also vying for starting slots. The plate winner earns 100, 000 SA Rands. Uganda that started at quarter final is the guest country at this year’s championship that climaxes on June 8. Defending champions Zimbabwe are the record 6-time (2000, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2017 and 2018) champions of the tournament that started in 1997.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here