Home Football The Cranes ready to give the maximum –Desabre

The Cranes ready to give the maximum –Desabre

Uganda Cranes coaches Sebastien Desabre and his assistant Mathias Lule

Total AFCON finals 2019

Friday (Opener)

Egypt vs Zimbawe, 5pm EAT (SS4/GoTV)

Cranes Group (A) Matches

Saturday: Uganda Cranes vs DRC, 5:30pm

26th June: Zimbabwe vs Uganda Crane
30th June: Uganda Cranes vs Egypt

Uganda Cranes Head Coach Sebastien Desabre has declared his charges ready for action as the AFCON 2019 finals kick off this Friday in Cairo, Egypt with hosts and record 7-time winners Egypt playing Zimbabwe at the Cairo international stadium in the opener. Group A also has 1978 losing finalists Uganda and two-time winners Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

Uganda open the campaign against last edition’s quarter finalists DRC and Desabre is optimistic his side will come better of Jean-Florent Ikwange Ibengé troops.

“The players are ready to give the maximum. We have good organisation, cohesion and quality in the team basing on values of working together. Each player has a task to play, the spirit is good enough and as a complete unit we shall achieve a lot. We camped in Abu Dhabi to get used to the weather here in Egypt. The weather was not good for us in the first week but we later acclimatized to it. I am happy with the camp we had in Abu Dhabi,” Desabre told FUFA Website.

Miya Faruku and Mike Azira enjoy a selfie moment in Cairo, Egypt

Uganda Cranes are camped at Radisson Blu Hotel in Cairo and train at Arab Contractors stadium. Ugandan’s led by Speaker of parliament Rt. Hon Rebecca Kadaga have already wished the Cranes success and many fans locally are eager to see better performance at the continental showpiece than two years ago in Gabon where the team only managed one point and goal as they bowed out at the group stage under Serbian Coach Milutin Micho Sredojevic.

Full 2019 Cranes squad and jersey numbers:

Denis Onyango (18), Jamal Salim Magoola (19), Robert Odongkara (1), Murushid Jjuuko(4), Bevis Mugabi (5), Isaac Muleme (20), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (16), Wakiro Nico Wadada (14), Joseph Benson Ochaya (2), Timothy Denis Awany (3), Godfrey Walusimbi (15), Ronald Mukiibi (12), William Kizito Luwagga (10), Khalid Aucho (8), Mike Azira (23), Faruku Miya (17), Tadeo Lwanga (6), Allan Kateregga (13), Lumala Abdu (22), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (7), Patrick Henry Kaddu (9), Derrick Nsibambi (11) and Allan Kyambadde (21).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here