Home Golf Captain’s Bell golf Tournament dedicated to Ocitti

Captain’s Bell golf Tournament dedicated to Ocitti

Mark Ocitti (2nd L) poses with winners Odere (L) and Kabasweka (2nd R) alongside UGU Captain Karyarugookwe (R) on Wednesday

Captain’s Bell overall winners

Men: Colin Odere – 41 points

Ladies: Peace Kabasweaka – 38 points

Uganda Golf Club (UGC) Captain Jackson Karyarugookwe dedicated the 2019 Captain’s Bell tournament to the Uganda Breweries Limited (UBL) outgoing Managing Director (MD) Mark Ongom Ocitti.

Colin Odere emerged the men’s overall winner with 41 points while last year’s Singleton Challenge winner Peace Kabasweka returned 38 points to win the ladies category.

The tournament held last Wednesday was graced by 144 golfers -seniors inclusive with a cake from Sheraton hotel cut to see off Ocitti, a member of UGC, who will leave the country on July 28, 2019 to Tanzania as he joins Serengeti Breweries.

Ocitti, who was once Vice Captain at UGC, was appointed UBL MD in June 2016, taking over from Nyimpini Mabunda.

“UBL’s support for golf will continue whether I am here or not. Golf is good for beer and beer is good for golf,” Ociti told golfers after the 19th-hole experience.

UGC’s captain Jackson Karyarugookwe lauded the club members’ generosity towards the event. UGC’s Lady Captain Anne Abeja expressed delight in Ociti’s support towards the game during his stint at the helm of UBL. Jaime Byaruhanga and Ashvin Kananathan needed 35 points on count back to emerge winner and runner up respectively in men’s Group A.

In Men’s Group B, Silver Rugambwa – 39 points was the winner while Abe Luka – 37 points was runner up. In men’s Group C, Ahmed Warsome returned 38 points to top the chats while William Mutyaba had 36 on count back to settle for second position.

In Men’s Group D, CBA’s Anthony Ndegwa was winner with 31 points while Nathan Mubiru had 28 on count back.

In Ladies Group A, Katy Kabenge needed 37 on count back to beat senior lady golfer Jeniina Nasimolo to the top seat.

UGC Lady Captain; Anne Abeja – 36 points was winner in Group B while Wendy Angudeyo – 35 points was runner up.

In Ladies Group C, Eva Araduha – 30 points was winner while Doreen Mwesigye – 28 points came second.

Guest Winner Men was Joseph Kasozi – 38 points while Josephine Babirye – 29 points was the ladies guest winner.

Nearest to the Pin was won by Nyaga Ngari.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here