Home Football CAF Executive Committee seat excites Magogo

CAF Executive Committee seat excites Magogo

Fufa boss Moses Magogo adresses the media

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo was on Thursday elected the new CAF Executive committee member for CECAFA zone during the 41st CAF annual general assembly in Cairo, Egypt.

Magogo beat Tanzania’s Leodegar Tenga by 33-19 votes to assume position on the continental body’s top management.

The assembly was attended by FIFA President Ginanni Infantino who arrived in Egypt’s capital a day to the assembly that came amid a push by FIFA to accept its top delegate, Secretary-General Fatma Samoura, as a ‘General Delegate’ to Africa.

The General Assembly was also the first since CAF President Ahmad Ahmad was arrested in France for alleged graft.

He was later released after being questioned by the French authorities. Prior to the Assembly, FIFA President Infantino said that the plan to have Samoura within CAF ranks would help “significantly improve” football on the continent. “I am very happy that I have been elected a full member of the executive,” Magogo told URN immediately after his election.

Magogo (C) congratulated by Fufa officials after victory

Previously, Magogo served as a co-opted member for the mandatory two years, but now will serve for four years. The FUFA President openly castigated CECAFA leadership in 2017 under President Sirelkhatim Mustasim Gafaar as he served as CAF Futsal and Beach soccer committee chairperson.

He called for immediate resignation of Mustasim over what he termed as ‘governance challenge’ at the organization.

Magogo, who passed his anger then through a letter to the General Secretary Nicholas Musonye, was escorted to the assembly attended by all the 54 members of CAF by FUFA 1st and 2nd Vice presidents Justus Mugisha and Darius Mugoye respectively as well as CEO Edgar Watson to this year’s assembly.

Libya’s Abdulrazzik Abraheem won the Northern zone vote while Mohammed Ally Sami from Mauritius won the Southern zone vote. Senegal’s Augustin Senghor won the Western zone unopposed while the central zone had Gabon’s Pierre-Alian Mounguengui unopposed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here