Home Football Magogo offers winning bonus to KCCA squad

Magogo offers winning bonus to KCCA squad

Anaku Sadat and Mike Mutyaba celebrate a goal in a league fixture last season

FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo has offered $1000 (About Shs3.7m) to every member of the KCCA FC squad if they win this year’s Cecafa Kagame Cup.

According to club media officer Moses Magero, the FUFA Boss made the commitment during his courtesy to the team in Kigali, Rwanda on Saturday.

Magogo was recently elected a CAF Executive member representing the Cecafa Zone for the next four years during the CAF 41st assembly in Cairo, Egypt.

The assembly was held before the AFCON 2019 final where Algeria beat Senegal 1-0 to win their first tile since 1990.

Magogo talks to KCCA FC squad

KCCA are playing defending champions Azam FC of Tanzania this Sunday evening in the Cecafa 2019 final and play maker Mike Mutyaba expects hard opponents in Azam.

“We are ready, the good thing we have scored in every game and we are going to treat this game like any other we have played so far. We have played them in the group stage but it will be a different game all together in the final. We want the trophy and everyone at the club is looking up to victory in the final,” noted Mutyaba, who scored at the semi finals as KCCA beat Zambia’s Green Eagles 4-3 after extra time with other goals scored by Allan Okello (x2) and Sadat Anaku.

KCCA beat Azam 1-0 at the group stage courtesy of Sadat Anaku goal four minutes into the second half and KCCA FC Assistant manager Morley Byekwaso expects the best at the final.

“Everyone is focused and geared up. Players have shown that they are top team in the tournament and have displayed better football. The young boys have shown that they want to be better players every time they have been given a chance,” noted Byekwaso.

KCCA beat Simba SC of Tanzania at the final to win their only title in 1978 but lost to AFC Leopards at the final the following year.

The winner of the annual club regional tournament which is mainly financed by Rwandan President Paul Paul Kagame will be crowned champion with prize money worth $30,000 while runners up will receive $20,000 and $10,000 respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here