Home Football Rugyendo returns as FSL board chairman

Rugyendo returns as FSL board chairman

Rugyendo thanks FSL members for the trust on Friday

It was old wine in new bottles as the FUFA Super League board returned for another four-year term till 2023 after re-election during the company Extraordinary general assembly elections at Namboole stadium on Friday.

Arinaitwe Rugyendo bounced back as the chairman alongside the other four members; Humphrey Mandu Watenga (member), Ivan Fredrick Kawuma (member), Peter Kibazo Kyasanku (secretary) and David Sserebe Bunya (Vice president).

The returning officer was Yusuf Awuye from FUFA electoral commission. The process was also graced by the FUFA CEO Edgar Watson, second Vice President Darius Mugoye, third Vice President Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi as well as Executive Committee members Hamid Juma and Ronnie Kalema.

Only13 of the 16 Uganda Premier league clubs took part in the elections whilst others voting under protest. Newly promoted sides; Proline, Wakiso Giants and Kyetume were denied chance to make their choices on grounds that they were yet to be admitted as FSL members.

During the poll, Mandu tallied 13 votes out of 13, Kibazo got 12 votes, Serebe (11), Rugyendo (11), Kawuma (7), Njuba (6) and Kalinaki scored just four votes.

The four members however, zeroed on Rugyendo and Serebe to return as board chairman and vice chairman from among themselves.

The change of term to four years from two was passed during the assembly last year. Ruygendo lauded the members for the confidence and trust vested in him.

“To miss two votes is a learning process for me to check myself and see what I have not done well.I will continue fronting stabilizing the game, restoration of integrity in the game and seeking for more sponsorship. The last four years were about building a credible product but we retained sponsorship confidence. We ought to strengthen the capacity of the secretariat even more. Let’s keep rebuilding the game and seek resources to have a permanent home for the secretariat,” he said.

Proline’s chairman Hussein Kato Kalibala stormed out of the assembly protesting being not notified that he did not have voting rights.

FSLL Board Members (2019-2023)

Chairman: Arinaitwe Rugyendo

Vice-Chairman: David Sserebe Bunya

Members: Humphrey Mandu Watenga, Fredrick Ivan Kawuma, Peter Kibazo Kyasanku


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here