Home Cricket Mwiri out to defend Boys Schools Cricket week title

Mwiri out to defend Boys Schools Cricket week title

Busoga College, Mwiri celebrate their vicotry last year

The 2019 edition of the annual Boys Schools Cricket week commences throws off on Sunday in Kampala. The T20 tournament will be played at five ovals across the country including; Lugogo, Kyambogo, Kings College -Buddo, Ndejje and Gayaza High School with a total of two  games played every day.

The tournament that started in 1939 with four schools has seen an increase in participation this year. From the 12 teams that took part last year, two more schools have joined this year to take the number of teams to 14.

The participating schools are those that emerged victors during their respective regional qualifiers while Makerere College School was granted a wild card entry as the host school.

To crown the 2019 edition, tournament Select side will play the Bagurusi (aged cricket players) at Makerere College School while the best 20 players selected will later attend to attend a seven-day training camp at Lugogo.

At the end of the camp, a team of 14 players will be selected to travel to Rwanda in October to play a series of games against their Rwandan counterparts as the U19 team.

Busoga College Mwiri is the defending champions after clinching their record 17th title last year. This year’s edition is sponsored by Uganda Cricket Association (UCA), International Cricket Council (ICC), Metro Tyres, Aziz Damani Sports Club and Bankstown Cricket Club.

The teams:

Ntare School and Nyakasura School (Western Region), Jinja Senior Secondary School, Busoga High School, Kira College Butiki and Busoga College Mwiri (Eastern Region), Masaka Senior Secondary School (South Western Region), Kings College Buddo, Mukono Parents School, Kololo Senior Secondary School, Kyambogo College School, and St John High School (Central Region) and Teso College Aloet (Soroti Region).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here