Home Football Jogoos take over Red Eagles nest to extend lead

Jogoos take over Red Eagles nest to extend lead

Captains Disan Galiwango of Express (L) greets Asuman Halishe of SC Villa as match officials led by center referee Ali Sabila look on

StarTimes Uganda premier league

Friday results

Express 0-1 SC Villa

URA 1-2 Tooro United

It was another bad day in office for the hosting Express FC as rivals SC Villa picked maximum points from the Betway Muteesa II stadium, Wankulukuku during a StarTimes Uganda premier league match day five clash on Friday.

Ambrose Kirya’s goal header in the 73rd minute proved the difference in the well attended derby. The assistant captain met Derrick Ndahiro’s lofty cross from left at far right to head home his second of the season.

The victory is SC Villa’s third – including a walkover against Proline FC – and sends the club to ten points at the summit.

The record 16-time champions who lost to Kyetume FC in the opener drew against Police FC after beating Mbarara City.

The Red Eagles who were coming from a 3-2 win at Mbarara City for their first win of the season, failed to capitalize on their good start and hence suffered third loss of the season after slips against BUL FC and Onduparaka as well as drawing against Bright Stars.

Although the hosts were the second best on the day, they will feel denied two penalty calls by referee Ali Sabila after goal keeper Said Keni hard tackle at Frank Ssenyondo, who was stretched off to hospital and replaced by Mweru Doka –who was making his first appearance for the Betway-sponsored side.

Yayo Lutimba also seemed to have handled the ball in the box after the break. Keni denied Frank Kalanda, Hamdan Nsubuga and Andrew Kiwanuka. Bashir Mutanda, Yayo Lutimba and David Awori had efforts wide.

Express FC, who slipped to 13th in the standings with 4 points, will visit Proline FC on October 2 while Villa host SC Vipers the following day.

Teams Used:

Express XI
Joshua Adea (GK), Lawrence Kigonya, Andrew Kiwanuka, Cyrus Kibande, Martin Kizza, Dennis Sserukwaya, Hamdan Nsubuga, Daniel Shabena, Frank Ssenyondo, Frank Kalanda, Disan Galiwango

Tony Kyamera (GK), Hamisi Batega, Ivan Ocholit, Axel Konan, Idris Kabonge, Doka Mweru, Joshua Musoke

Said Keni, Ibrahim Kibumba, Yayo Lutimba, Moses Kiggundu, Asuman Alishe, Amir Kakomo, David Owori, Emmanuel Kalyowa, Ambrose Kirya, Bashir Mutanda, Derrick Ndahiro.

Sam Kivumbi, Gavin Kizito, Charles Lwanga, Albert Mugisa, Allan Kabonge, Emmanuel Wasswa, Lincoln Mukisa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here