Home Football Busiro stun Buddu in Masaka to take first leg advantage

Busiro stun Buddu in Masaka to take first leg advantage

Busiro Coach Deo Sserwadda

2019 Airtel Masaza Cup

Semifinals, 1st Leg results

Buddu 1-2 Busiro

Kyadondo 1-1 Bulemezi

Busiro took first leg advantage after their astonishing 2-1 win away at Buddu on Sunday at Masaka recreation grounds in one of the semi finals of this year’s Airtel-Masaza Cup. The visitors took a 2-0 lead into the break with goals from Mikadadi Ssenyonga and Gerald Ogwetti.

Ssenyonga, in his last appearance in the tournament after joining URA FC, struck scored from inside the goal area at half hour mark.

Moments before the first 45 minutes climaxed, Ogwetti had a bullet finish from an acute angle to send the home crowd into silence.

Busiro, who are coached by former SC Villa coach Deo Sserwadda were lucky as Buddu missed a penalty as Ibra Owen Kasule failed to convert in the final quarter-hour of the game.

Second half substitute Marida Kutesa beat the off-side trap to head home past the advancing goalie for the consolation that leaves the match wide open ahead of next Sunday’s return leg at Ssentema playground in Busiro.

Both sides will, however, have to play the game without their key players who were sent off for unsporting character. Buddu’s right back Geriga Atendele, now at Onduparaka FC and Busiro’s Paul Wasswa will not play in the return leg.

In the other semifinal played at the Champions Stadium in Mwererwe, Kyadondo and visiting Bulemezi played to a one-all draw.

Bulemezi led through Gabriel Eragu’s header as the second half kicked off before the hosts leveled through Emmanuel Mwesigwa in a game braced by opposition leaders Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago, former FDC leader Kiiza Besigye among others.

The return leg will be played this Sunday at the dusty Kasana playground in Luwero. The 2019 Airtel-Masaza Cup final will be played Namboole stadium on a yet to be confirmed date by His Majesty, the King of Buganda, Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II. Singo are the defending champions.

Masaza Cup past winners:

2019 – Singo

2017 – Gomba

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Singo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012 – Bulemeezi

2011 – Buluri

2010 – Not Held

2009 – Gomba

2008 – Kyadondo

2007 – Mawokota

2006 – Kooki

2005 – Mawokota

2004 – Gomba


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here