Home Football Three Ugandan referees for CECAFA U20 championship

Three Ugandan referees for CECAFA U20 championship

Alex Muhabi in action

2019 CECAFA U-20 Tournament

September 21–October 5, Njeru & Gulu

Three Ugandan referees have been confirmed for the 2019 CECAFA U-20 tournament starting this Saturday at Pece stadium, Gulu till October 5.

The tournament will be played at two venues; Gulu and Fufa technical center, Njeru.

Center referee Alex Muhabi and two assistant referees; Ronald Katenya and Musa Balikoowa are the three Ugandan FIFA officials to officiate at the much anticipated tournament.

A total of 20 referees will handle the two-week tournament that has eleven (11) countries participating –grouped into three.

Apart from Uganda, the other match officials come from Burundi, Djibouti, Kenya, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Tanzania, Sudan, Zanzibar, South Sudan and Somalia.

Two of the match officials; Jonesia Kabakama from Tanzania and Kenya’s Jane Cherono are females.

Sudan and Djibouti play the first game of the tournament on September 21 before Uganda takes on Eritrea later on the same date in the official opening game in Group A.

Uganda were the last country to win the tournament last played in 2010. Five countries had arrived in the country for the tournament including; Djibouti who arrived first last week, Sudan, Somalia and South Sudan while Kenya arrives this Thursday.

CECAFA Media Manager Rogers Mulindwa

CECAFA officials are also already in the country. Meanwhile, the Uganda Hippos (U20) travels to Gulu this Thursday morning where they will play their group A games from. Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti are the other countries in the Group.

The Hippos played to a barren stalemate against the Uganda Cranes CHAN team in a practice match on Tuesday at Njeru.

The CHAN 2020 team is also preparing for the upcoming qualifier against Burundi away in Bujumbura this Saturday.

Match officials:

Center Referees: Eric Manirakiza (Burundi), Dinareh Mohamed (Djibouti), Israel Mpaima (Kenya), Lemma Neguisse (Ethiopia), Yohanned Zakaria (Eritrea), Jonesia Kabakama (Tanzania), Martin Sanya (Tanzania), Mahmood Ali Mahmood Ismael (Sudan), Alex Muhabi (Uganda), Ali Mfaume (Zanzibar)

Assistant Referees: Oliver Odhiambo (Kenya), Ali Mahad (Somalia), Yetayew Belachew (Ethiopia), Mikiele Bereket (Eritrea), Jane Cherono (Kenya), Frank Komba (Tanzania), Nour Abdi (Somalia), Ronald Katenya (Uganda), Robert Duwuki (South Sudan), Musa Balikowa (Uganda)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here