Home Football Byekwaso irked by goal shyness in Hippos opening draw  

Byekwaso irked by goal shyness in Hippos opening draw  

Hippos celebrate Ivan bogere's goal

CECAFA U20 Championship

Saturday results (Group A)

Sudan 4-0 Djibouti

Uganda 1-1 Eritrea

Group C:

Burundi 3-3 South Sudan

Sunday (Group B)

Kenya vs Zanzibar-2pm (Njeru)

Ethiopia vs Tanzania -4pm (Njeru)

Monday (Group A -Gulu)

Eritrea vs Sudan, 1pm

Uganda vs Djibouti, 4pm

Group C

Burundi vs Sudan, 2pm (Njeru)

Uganda national U20 side (Hippos) was held to a one-all draw by Eritrea in group A as the 2019 CECAFA U20 Championship kicked off on Saturday at the Pece stadium, Gulu.

Proline FC’s Ivan Bogere gave the hosting Uganda lead in the 37th minute before Eritrea equalized through Yosief Tesfai Mewael 20 minutes later.

Isma Mugulusi saw his effort off the post after replacing Najib Yiga in the second half. As Uganda, cheered by the massive home crowd, rallied for the winner in vain, Coach Morley Byekwaso also brought on Sadat Anaku for Ivan Asaba while Steven Sserwadda was also introduced for Joseph Kafumbe.

“We played well and we were the better side only that the boys looked shy in front of goal. We are going to work on our scoring and return more sharper in front of goal in the next matches. I am not happy with the result but impressed with the overall performance,” noted Byekwaso after the match.

In the earlier first game of the tournament at the same venue, Sudan humbled Djibouti 4-0 to get to the summit of group A with three points while Eritrea and Uganda follow respectively with a point with Djibouti sitting at the bottom without a point.

Eritrea starting XI
Eritrea starting XI

At the FUFA Technical center in Njeru, Burundi and South Sudan played to a three all draw.

Eritrea face Sudan in the early kick off at 1pm this Monday before Uganda battles Djibouti at 4pm in Gulu. Group A matches will be hosted in Gulu while group B and C are to play from Njeru.

Two teams from group C and three teams from each of groups A and B qualify to the Quarter Finals.

Uganda Hippos technical bench sing the national anthem before kick off on Saturday (FUFA media)

Hippos XI (Jersey numbers): Denis Otim (1), Justine Opiro (17), Aziz Abdul Kayondo (3), Derrick Kiggundu (13), Gavin Kizito (5), Kenneth Semakula (4), Hassan Ssenyonjo (12), Joseph Kafumbe (14), Najib Yiga (7), Sadat Happy Anaku (10), Ivan Bogere (9)

Subs: Jack Komakech (18), Patrick Mubiru (19), Kevin Ssekimbegga (2), Robert Kitabalwa (16), Steven Serwadda (8), Isma Mugulusi (15), Ivan Asaba (11), Sadam Masereka (20)


Group A: Uganda, Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti

Group B: Kenya, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Zanzibar

Group C: Burundi, South Sudan, Somalia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here