Home Football Uganda falls to Tanzania in Cecafa U20 tournament

Uganda falls to Tanzania in Cecafa U20 tournament

Aziz Kayondo celebrates one of his two goals

Cecafa U20 championship

Sunday quarter final results

Uganda 2-4 Tanzania

Sudan vs South Sudan

Eritrea 5-0 Zanzibar

Burundi 1-2 Kenya

Uganda U20 side (Hippos) could not go past the quarterfinal of the 2019 Cecafa U20 championship after a 4-2 loss to Tanzania in a thrilling 6-goal affair at the Pece stadium, Gulu on Sunday. Tanzania scored through Andrew Albart Simchimba in the 25th and 60th minute before Vipers SC left back Abdul Aziz Kayondo grabbed a brace to level matters in the 46th and 74th minute.

It was an end-to end tie where both teams pressed hard for goals –which left the Gulu fans in pleasure. It was Tanzania however that lived it to score two goals in the last two minutes of the game through Kelvin Pius John to seal their visa to the semi finals.

Uganda was the last champion of the competition in 2010 when it was hosted in Eritrea before its revival this year as Uganda hosted it in Gulu and Njeru. Hippos Head Coach Morley Byekwaso made only three few changes with Goalkeeper Jack Komakech makes his first start in the championship.

Striker Ivan Bogere and Najib Yiga returned to the starting team having started the last group game against Sudan on the bench. Bogere replaced Sadat Anaku and Yiga came in for Bright Anukani.

Uganda settled for third position in Group A behind leaders Eritrea and Sudan respectively while Tanzania outwitted Zanzibar 5-0 to top group B. The result meant Tanzania and Kenya were level on points, goals scored and goals conceded. Both Kenya and Tanzania ended the group stage on seven points and scored a total of eleven goals whilst conceding two goals.

Tanzania, however, claimed the top spot in Group B on disciplinary grounds picking three yellow cards while Kenya had five.

Uganda Hippos XI: Jack Komakech (G.K), Joseph Kafumbe, Aziz Abdul Kayondo, Gavin Kizito (Cpt), Kenneth Semakula, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Sadam Masereka, Najib Yiga, Ivan Asaba, Steven Sserwadda, Ivan Bogere


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here