Home Football Airtel-Masaza Cup organizers expect massive turn up for the final

Airtel-Masaza Cup organizers expect massive turn up for the final

Minister Sekabembe

Airtel-Masaza Cup final

October 26, Namboole

Busiro vs Bulemezi, 3pm

Third place play-off

Buddu vs Kyadondo, 12pm

Fee: Shs10k, 20k, 100k

The organizers of Airtel-Masaza Cup have promised to stage a better final this year as dark horses Busiro battle 2012 winners Bulemezi on October 26 at the Namboole stadium. Busiro ejected 2016 champions Buddu at the semi finals while Bulemezi eliminated 2008 champions Kyadondo. According to Owek.

Henry Sekabembe Kiberu, the minister for sports in the Buganda kingdom, they have partnered with one of the top event promoting company to promote the game.

“We are grateful that the tournament has successfully moved this far. We expect a competitive final and third place play-off in front of the Kabaka and I call upon Buganda people to come and grace the final. Like I said before, the best organized teams play the final and in this case, the best organized teams were Bulemezi and Busiro. I challenge the teams in the final and third place play-off to rally their masses to Namboole to challenge the status quo. Our Kabaka will be the chief guest as usual and we expect his subjects that will grace the final to observe maximum discipline,” noted Sekabembe during the launch of the road map to the final.

Busiro are appearing at the final for the first time whilst Bulemezi appear for the third time.

The 15th edition of the Airtel-sponsored tournament will see the winners take home Shs12m prize money, Shs9m for first runner up, Shs7m for the second runner up while the fourth team will get Shs5m.

The most disciplined side will get a set of uniform while the Most valuable player (MVP) and top scorer will each get Shs300000 cash prize.

According to Sulaiman Sejjengo, the chairman Masaza Cup organizing committee, 74 goals have been scored and over 470 players have taken part in the tournament.

19 players have joined the StarTimes Uganda premier league from this season while about 50 of the participating players this season are seeing out their mandatory five years for eligibility. Singo are the last year’s winners but could not make their way past quarter finals this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here