Home Football Express survive Police for first home victory

Express survive Police for first home victory

Express FC players celebrate one of the goals

StarTimes Uganda premier league

Friday result

Express 5-3 Police

Express FC secured their first home win of the campaign on their seventh fixture of the season after overcoming Police FC 5-3 in a live TV game played at the Betway Muteesa II stadium, Wankukukuku on Friday.

In an eight-goal thriller, Frank Kalanda scored twice and assisted once to cap his man of the match performance, Captain Disan Galiwango scored and created one, Frank Senyondo scored and created one while Ivan Ocholit sealed the victory or Express after coming off the bench to replace Kalanda in the second stanza.

It is the second win for the Red Eagles after beating Mbarara City away 3-2 and they move four places up to 9th on logo with 7 points in 7 games.

Police meanwhile were seeking a repeat of last season 2-0 victory at the Red Eagles in Wankulukuku but remained with one win in six games. Ben Ocen bagged a double and Timothy Oyamo scored the other goal but the efforts proved not enough for Abdallah Mubiru’s side that sits second from the foot with only two points.

Kalanda scored twice and assisted in his man of the match performance

Kalanda and Ocen move their tally to three to level Vipers SC Fahad Bayo and Mbarara City duo of Brian Ahebwe and Paul Mucureezi as joint top scorers. The league resumes this Saturday.

Starting XI:

Express FC – Tonny Kyamera, Muhammad Yiga, Cyrus Kibande, Martin Kizza, Andrew Kiwanuka, Daniel Shabena, Isaac Doka Mweru, Lawrence Kigonya, Disan Galiwango, Frank Kalanda, Frank Ssenyondo

Substitutes – Sadat Mugenyi, Hamis Batega, Idris Kabonge, Dennis Sserukwaya, Joshua Musoke, Ivan Ocholit, Enock Ssebagala

Police FC:  Hilary Jomi, Dennis Rukundo, Arafat Galiwango, Joseph Sentume, Yusuf Ssozi, Timothy Oyamo, Ben Ocen,Samuel Kayongo, Herbert Katongole, Andrew Samson Kigozi, Hood Kaweesa

Substitutes – Alfred Ginyera, Pius Kaggwa, Johnson Odong, Ruben Kimera, Hassan Wasswa, Tony Kiwalazi, Fahad Kizito


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here