Home Uncategorized Airtel wants to see the genuine best awarded at FUFA awards

Airtel wants to see the genuine best awarded at FUFA awards

The launch of the Airtel FUFA Awards 2019 at Serena Hotel, Kampala

Airtel-Uganda Head of brand and communication Remmy Kisakye has asked FUFA to ensure that the best female and male player is awarded when the 2019 Airtel-FUFA wards get underway on December 14 at Speke Resort, Munyonyo.

The glamorous annual awards were launched yesterday at Serena hotel, Kampala with changes in the voting process and new categories introduced.

“Recently in the FIFA player of the year awards, many people were left dissatisfied with the Messi coming on top while there were media reports that some votes were changed. As Airtel, we do not want to hear that. We want to see the best awards awarded to satisfaction of most of the fans despite the fact that no all will concur with the choice,” noted Kisakye after handing over a Shs100m dummy cheque as Airtel-Uganda sponsorship package for this year.

The new categories introduced include; Airtel – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Women), Airtel – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year, Best Squad (Club/National Team) of a particular Year, FUFA Member Associations’ Award and the Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions).

“We are excited for the fifth year running to unveil the awards where we recognize the best of talents. The objective of these awards is to reward excellence. We also recognize those that have built a strong foundation to the game. The top awards will be the best male & female players of the awards. These awards are valid for the Season effective 7th December 2018 to 14th December 2019,” noted Rogers Byamukama, the chairman organizing committee, who confirmed the dress code as formal with preferably a black Tie.

The coaches and captains made nominees for the male and female players of the year. There will be two rounds of voting. There are three categories of voters are Coaches, Captains and fans –contributing 50%, 25% and 25% respectively of the votes.

Away from the main sponsors Airtel-Uganda, NIC Holdings, Bet Lion, Pepsi, Bidco Uganda Limited, ECO Bank, BBS TV are the other partners of the awards. NIC Insurance and Ecobank contributed Shs10m each while BBS TV will have the event live.

“We are very privileged to associate with these awards for the past three years and we shall renew our sponsorship next year,” Primerose Kobusingye, Ecobank Communications Director.

“This year makes the 11th year partnering with FUFA and we have made a long term investment in sports,” noted Pamela Abonyo, the NIC Holdings Head of Corporate Communications.

Cranes head coach Jonathan Mckinstry hailed FUFA for recognizing the female players too and believes that the awards motivate those that win them.

“As BBS TV, we are privileged to be part of this on top of being the official broadcasters of the Airtel-Masaza Cup,” noted Alice Namatovu, BBS TV Sales and Marketing manager soon after Bernard Musinguzi, a BetLion Sales and Marketing Executive hailed FUFA for the previous successful awards ceremonies. Acting FUFA President Justus Mugisha thanked Airtel for the sponsorship as well as the organizing committee.

Remmy Kisakye

“In a special way, I want to thank Airtel Uganda for being with us all through; not only with Uganda Cranes but in football development through the Airtel Rising Stars (ARS) and the Buganda Kingdom Masaza tournament,” noted Mugisha.

Nominees for Airtel-FUFA Male Player of the Year 2019

Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Mike Mutyaba (KCCA), Viane Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Daniel Sserunkuma (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City), Deogratious Ojok (BUL), Bright Anukani (Proline), Hillary Mukundane (Mbarara City), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers), Ivan Bogere (Proline)

Nominees for Airtel FUFA Team Fans of the Year 2019

SC Villa, Onduparaka, KCCA, Tooro United, West Nile Province, Acholi Province Fans, Lango Province Fans, Bunyoro Province Fans

Nominees for Airtel – FUFA Female player of the Year 2019

Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Muslim), Fauzia Najjemba (Isra Soccer Academy), Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves), Lillian Mutuuzo (Kampala Queens), Hasifah Nassuna (UCU Lady Cardinals), Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals), Leticia Nabbosa (Lady Doves), Margaret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim), Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs), Amina Nababi (Makerere University), Shamirah Nalujja (Isra Soccer Academy), Maureen Kinavudori (UCU Lady Cardinal

Full List of the 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards Categories:

1 – Airtel – FUFA Male Player of the Year 2019

2 – Airtel – FUFA Female Player of the Year 2019

3 – Airtel – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Men)

4 – Airtel – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Women) – New

5 – Airtel – FUFA Coach of the Year 2019

6 – Airtel – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year – New

7 – FUFA Presidential Award

8 – Airtel – FUFA Fair Play Award 2019 (UPL)

9 – Airtel – FUFA Upcoming Talent Award 2019 (FJL)

10 – Airtel – FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year

11 – Airtel – FUFA Fans’ Favorite Uganda foreign based Player

12 – Best Squad (Club/National Team) of a particular Year – New

13 – FUFA Member Associations’ Award – New

14 – Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions) – New


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here