Home Football Inaugural FUFA Women Super League Underway

Inaugural FUFA Women Super League Underway

UCU Lady Cardinal’s Hassifa Nassuna (L) taking on Juliet Nalukenge of Kawempe last season (Fufa pic)

FUFA Women Elite League

Saturday, 4pm

Kampala Queens WFC – Olila HS WFC

UCU Lady Cardinals – She Corporates

Sunday, 4pm

Kawempe Muslim LFC – Uganda Martyrs HS WFC

Muteesa I Royal WFC – Lady Doves FC

Eight teams will partake in the inaugural FUFA Women Super League that kicks off this weekend with four (4) fixtures on card. The new name (FUFA Women super league) replaced last season’s FUFA Women Elite league after FUFA divided last season’s 16 teams into two leagues, according to last season performance.

The top eight from last season were moved to FUFA Women super league and reigning champions UCU Lady Cardinal start title defence will kick off their season at home in Mukono this Saturday against She Corporate who have just secured the services of defender Bridget Nabisaalu and Phionah Nabbumba from Ajax Queens.

UCU Lady Cardinals that won their first league title last season with win over Lady Doves in the final at Lugogo, have added scoring national team defender Shadia Nankya onto their star-filled squad from Uganda Martyrs Rubaga and will inspire the side along with last season top scorer Hasifah Nassuna, best goal goalkeeper, captain Maureen Kinavundori among others.

Crested Cranes head coach Faridah  Bulega will again lead Kampala Queens at IUIU in Kabojja when they host North-Eastern region giants Olila High School  WFC.

The FUFA President’s side added six new signing including wonderful goal-machine Fauzia Najjemba from Isra Soccer Academy.

Fatumah Nakasumba (Makerere University WFC), Docus Nabuufu (Uganda Martyrs ), Brenda Kwaka (Riness), goalkeeper Resty Nalweyiso (Masaka SS) and Milly Ntambi (Rines) are the other new signings. Olila maintained most of their players and skipper Eunice Ariokot together with Gillian Akadinda and Bira Naddunga who are fresh from the COSAFA Girls U17 Championship that Uganda (as guest team) won in Mauritius.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here