Home Football More Nominees as Mutebi, Mubiru and Bisaso battle for coach of the year...

More Nominees as Mutebi, Mubiru and Bisaso battle for coach of the year award

Abdallah Mubiru

As the 2019 Airtel-FUFA Awards ceremony draw closer, the anxiety towards the build up to the coveted ceremony has continued to grow as more nominees were revealed on Monday –adding to the three categories (Airtel FUFA Male and Female nominees) and Team Fans of the year that were released last month.

Coach of the year (Men’s Football Competitions)

The Airtel FUFA Coach of the of the year nominees in the men’s competitions were revealed and these include Mike Hillary Mutebi (KCCA FC), Abdallah Mubiru (Police FC) and Shafik Bisaso (Proline FC).

Mutebi, who has won the accolade for the last three years, helped KCCA FC to lift the 2018/19 StarTimes Uganda Premier League, CECAFA Kagame Cup in Rwanda and the FUFA Super Cup.

On the other hand, Mubiru guided Uganda Cranes to qualify for the 2020 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) while Bisaso helped Proline FC to win the StarTimes FUFA Big League and the Stanbic Uganda Cup on top of helping his team beat Malawi side Masters Security on their maiden continual bow.


Women football coach of the year

For the first time, Women’s football coaches will have their own category and the nominees include; favorite Ayub Khalifan, Oliver Mbekeka and Fred Ndaula.

Ayub helped Kawempe Muslim Ladies to reach the FUFA Women Elite League playoffs and was also in charge of the Uganda U17 Girls’ national team that won the COSAFA Championship as a guest team.

He also won several other trophies in FUFA sanctioned tournaments with his school. Mbekeka led Lady Doves to two finals –the FUFA Women Elite League and the FUFA Women’s Cup.

Ndaula on the other hand helped Makerere University to clinch the FUFA Women’s Cup –their first major title in history.

FUFA Member Association Award

Another category introduced this year is the Airtel-FUFA Member Associations’ award that is aimed at rewarding excelling FUFA Members. In total, FUFA is composed of 34 members following the admission of the Futsal Association of Uganda this year. The nominees include; KCCA FC, Buganda Region Football Association (BRFA) and Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA).

Beach Soccer Player of the year

In beach soccer, St. Lawrence duo of Ronald Mutebi and Suleiman Ochero will contend for the gong alongside Herbert Luboyera of Mutoola Beach Soccer Club. Mutebi was named the best goalkeeper in the 2018/19 league while Ochero finished as the top scorer with 29 goals in 19 games and was named the Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Upcoming talent

In the Airtel FUFA upcoming talent category, Sadat Anaku who won the accolade last year is nominated alongside Garvin Kizito Mugweri and Davis Sekajja.

The nominees in the Airtel-FUFA Male and Female player of the year 2019 categories were already released but the short lists will be trimmed and the names will be confirmed on Wednesday 14th November 2019. There are 16 candidates for vying for the Male best footballer of the year accolade and 12 female footballers that were generated by the head coaches as well as captains of the Star Times Uganda Premier League and the FUFA Women Elite League and FUFA Women Super League teams respectively. Coaches of the FUFA Women Elite League and FUFA Women Super League nominated their top 5 candidates for the FUFA Female player of the year 2019. There was second round of voting by the coaches and captains for the Male player of the year and Female player of the Year to get the top 5 and the list will be released this Wednesday. Public voting will contribute 25% and will get underway after release of top 5 for Male and Female Player of the Year. The Coaches will contribute 50%, Captains 25% and Fans 25% during the voting. This is the fifth successive year that the Airtel FUFA Awards are organized running under the theme ‘Celebrating Uganda’s finest footballers. This year’s awards function will be held on 14th December at Speke Resort, Munyonyo.


Airtel FUFA Male Coach of the Year

Abdallah Mubiru (Police FC)

Mutebi Mike Hillary (KCCA FC)

Bisaso Shafiq (Proline FC)

Airtel FUFA Women’s football Coach of the Year

Oliver Mbekeka (Lady Doves), Ayub Khalifan Kiyingi (Kawempe Muslim Ladies) and Ndaula Fred (Makerere University)

Fair Play Award (based on a number of caution during the period considered during the section)

Police FC, Maroons FC, URA FC

 Upcoming Talent Award (FUFA Juniors League)

Mugweri Gavin Kizito (SC Villa)

Anaku Sadat (KCCA SA)

Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC JT)

Airtel FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year

Luboyera Herbert (Mutola)

Ochero Sulaiman (St Lawrence)

Mutebi Ronald (St Lawrence)

Airtel FUFA Member Associations’ Award

Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA), Buganda region Football Association and KCCA Football Club

 Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions)

KCCA FC, Onduparak FC, SC Villa, Tooro United FC, Acholi Province,   West Nile Province, Lango Province and Bunyoro Province.

Nominees for Airtel FUFA Male Player of the Year 2019

Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Viane Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Daniel Sserunkuma (Vipers), Allan Okello (KCCA), Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City), Deogratious Ojok (BUL), Bright Anukani (Proline), Hillary Mukundane (Mbarara City), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers) and Ivan Bogere (Proline).

Nominees for Airtel FUFA Team Fans of the Year 2019

SC Villa Fans, Onduparaka Fans, KCCA Fans, Tooro United Fans,          West Nile Province, Acholi Province Fans, Lango Province Fans and        Bunyoro Province Fans

Nominees for Airtel – FUFA Female player of the Year, 2019

Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Muslim), Fauzia Najjemba (Isra Soccer Academy), Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves), Lillian Mutuuzo (Kampala Queens), Hasifah Nassuna (UCU Lady Cardinals), Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals), Leticia Nabbosa (Lady Doves), Margaret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim), Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs), Amina Nababi (Makerere University), Shamirah Nalujja (Isra Soccer Academy) and Maureen Kinavudori (UCU Lady Cardinals)

Full List of the 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards Categories:

1 – Airtel – FUFA Male Player of the Year 2019

2 – Airtel – FUFA Female Player of the Year 2019

3 – Airtel – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Men)

4 – Airtel – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Women)

5 – Airtel – FUFA Coach of the Year 2019

6 – Airtel – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year

7 – FUFA Presidential Award

8 – Airtel – FUFA Fair Play Award 2019 (UPL)

9 – Airtel – FUFA Upcoming Talent Award 2019 (FJL)

10 – Airtel – FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year

11 – Airtel – FUFA Fans’ Favorite Uganda foreign based Player

12 – Best Squad (Club/National Team) of a particular Year

13 – FUFA Member Associations’ Award

14 – Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here