Home Football Uganda Cranes return after away draw at Burkina Faso

Uganda Cranes return after away draw at Burkina Faso

Mugabi and Okwi on return

AFCON 2021 Qualifiers (Group B):

Burkina Faso 0-0 Uganda Cranes

Malawi 1-0 South Sudan

Uganda Cranes returned to the country this Thursday morning aboard Uganda airline Bombardier following a toiled barren draw away at Burkina Faso in the AFCON 2021 group B qualifier at the Stade Du 4 Aout in Ouagadougou on Wednesday night.

It called for collective effort from the players, technical department and FUFA administration. Left back Johnson Benson Ochaya had an early goal-line clearance before captain Denis Onyango was called upon to make routine collections and tame goal bound moments. Abdul Lumala, Farouk Miya, Emmanuel Arnold Okwi and Patrick Henry Kaddu had moments troubling the solid opposition backline.

Uganda Cranes had the best scoring moment when Okwi headed onto the cross bar a curling corner kick by Faruku Miya after the break. Johnathan McKinstry had changes but all looked to seek a point away from home in his first qualifier game in charge –bring on Nico Wakiro Wadada for Bevis Mugabi at right back, Patrick Henry Kaddu paved way for Isaac Muleme before  Alexis Bbaka got introduced for Miya.


“We had the fight and desire in the match against Burkina Faso. It is one pointed and we need to maintain doing this on the road. We are now going back home and look forward that home game against Malawi at Namboole Stadium this Sunday. We call upon the fans to come and fill up the stadium,” McKinstry noted after the game.

Uganda is second in group B with a point, same like Burkina Faso as Malawi leads the standings with three points following their 1-0 victory earlier over South Sudan. Focus and action will quickly swing to the next game on Sunday, 17th November 2019 at Mandela National Stadium, Namboole against Malawi in a duel that has been dubbed “366 Back To Namboole with Cranes”. The Malawi delegation jets in this Friday.

Khalid Aucho

Uganda Cranes XI: Denis Onyango (GK, Captain), Bevis Mugabi (Nico Wakiro Wadada), Joseph Benson Ochaya, Timothy Denis Awany, Murushid Juuko, Khalid Aucho, Mike Azira, Faruku Miya (Alexis Bbakka),Emmanuel Arnold Okwi, Abdul Lumala, Henry Patrick Kaddu (Isaac Muleme)

Subs Not Used: Robert Odongkara (GK),Charles Lukwago (GK),  Hassan Wasswa, Halid Lwaliwa,Taddeo Lwanga, William Kizito, Allan Kyambadde, Fahad Bayo, Allan Okello

Burkina Faso XI: Adama Sawadogo (GK), Steeve Yago, Edmond Tapsoba, Issoufou Dayo, Yacouba Coulibaly, Charles Kabore, Bryan Boulaye Dabo, Jonathan Pitroipa, Eric Traore, Cyrille Bayala, Lassina Traoré

All Afcon 2021 qualifiers results



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here