Home Football UPL top scorer dropped from Cecafa squad

UPL top scorer dropped from Cecafa squad

Steven Mukwala was dropped by McKinstry

Uganda Cranes team has started to take shape ahead of the forthcoming 2019 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup and the U17 Girls championship that will run concurrently from December 7-19 in Kampala and Njeru respectively.

FUFA Head of Communication Ahmed Hussein confirmed that the Girls championship will be played at the FUFA technical center, Njeru while the Senior Challenge Cup will be hosted at the StarTimes stadium, Lugogo.

The Girls championship will run till December 18 and entrance is free. KCCA and Proline players joined the camp on Tuesday after their last StarTimes Uganda premier league first round fixture where the defending champions beat the Uganda Cup holders 4-0 at Lugogo.

Sam Ssenyonjo, Nicholas Kasozi and Allan Okello brace gave KCCA their 10th victory to finish first round four points behind leaders Vipers SC. KCCA’s defenders John Revita, Mustafa Kizza and Samuel Kato, midfielders Muzamir Mutyaba, Nicolas Kasozi and Allan Okello plus goalkeeper Charles Lukwago have all joined the team together with Proline trio of Bright Anukani, Mustafa Mujuzi and Edrisa Lubega.

Ivan Serubiri in Tuesday Training

As the team takes shape, Uganda Premier League top scorer Steven Mukwala (10 goals) was dropped by head coach Jonathan McKinstry alongside Wakiso Giants youngster Hassan Ssenyonjo, 16-year-old goalkeeper Jack Komaketch and URA midfielder Ivan Serubiri who had lately replaced injured Kirizestom Ntambi on Monday.

Mukwala has previously featured for Uganda Hippos and Uganda Kobs. The Cranes are camped at the Paradise hotel in Kisaasi, training continues on Thursday at the StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo.

The Cranes squad:

Goalkeepers: Charles Lukwago (KCCA), James Alitho (URA), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Keni Saidi (SC Villa)

Defenders: Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Ashraf Mandela (URA), Mustapha Kizza (KCCA), Disan Galiwango (Express FC) John Revita (KCCA), Samuel Kato (KCCA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Musitafa Mujuzi (Proline), Paul Mbowa (URA)

Midfielders: Nicholas Kasozi (KCCA), Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Allan Okello (KCCA), Bright Anukani (Proline), Joachim Ojera (URA), Allan Kayiwa (Vipers SC)

Strikers: Ben Ocen (Police), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Lubega Edrisa (Proline)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here