Home Football Ayub names final squad for Cecafa U17 Girls championship

Ayub names final squad for Cecafa U17 Girls championship


Uganda U-17 girls team Head coach Ayub Khalifa has named his final 20 players that will represent the country at the inaugural CECAFA U17 Girls championship that gets underway this Monday morning at the FUFA technical center, Njeru.

Khalifa selected the final squad from the 29 players who have been undergoing residential training at Njeru. The team is largely made up of players who won the COSAFA championship in Mauritius where Uganda played as guests with only three new faces included.

Uganda Martyrs defender Gloria Namugerwa and the Amus College pair of strikers Zaina Nandede and midfielder Esther Adokole are destined for their first caps. “We have been working hard on team coordination and finishing, and I have much confidence in the players i have selected and hopeful we shall win this championship,” Khalifa said.

Officials Hussein Masha, the FUFA head of Communication and the National teams’ manager Patrick Ntege had a talk each with the team in the morning before head coach Khalifa announced his final 20 players led by Juliet Nalukenge as the captain.

Uganda that beat   solid Kampala select side 3-2 in the last practice match on Friday start their campaign against Burundi in the day’s third and last match. Tanzania opens against Eritrea in the first game at 11:00am before Djibouti takes on Kenya in the second game at 1:30pm.

The tournament that has attracted six teams and will be played on a round robin format with the top team on the number of points collected to be crowned champions by December 17. Uganda, Kenya, Djibouti, Tanzania, Eritrea and Burundi are the participating countries. FUFA has opened up the games to the public for free.

Uganda Squad:

Goalkeepers: Daphine Nyayenga (Uganda Martyrs HS), Joan Namusisi (Mukono HS) and Nasasira Gift (Gadafi Integrated HS)

Others: Stella Musibika (Kawempe Muslim), Patricia Akiror (Masaka SS), Gillian Akadinda (Olila HS), Samalie Nakacwa (Kawempe Muslim), Shakira Nyinagahirwa (Kawempe Muslim), Kevin Nakacwa (Uganda Martyrs HS), Moureen Nangozi (Mukono HS), Bira Nadunga (Olila HS), Summaya Komuntale (King of Kings), Hadijah Nandago (Kawempe Muslim SS), Catherine Nagadya (Uganda Martyrs), Esther Adokole (Amus College), Zaina Nandede (Amus College), Gloria Namugerwa (Uganda Martyrs), Margret Kunihira (Kawempe Moslem), Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Moslem) and Fauzia Najjemba (Mukono High School)

Team Officials:

Head Coach – Ayub Khalifa

Assistant Head Coach – Hadijah Namuyanja

Fitness Coach – Olive Mbekeka

Goalkeeping Coach – James Magala

Team Coordinator – Joan Namusisi

Team Media Officer- Aloysius Byamukama

Team Doctor – Stella Nankumba

Equipment Manager – Cissy Nakiguba


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here