Home Football McKinstry warns Uganda Cranes against boggy Tanzania

McKinstry warns Uganda Cranes against boggy Tanzania


Cecafa Senior challenge Cup

Tuesday, Lugogo


Kenya 1-4 Eritrea

Uganda vs Tanzania, 4pm

Uganda Cranes Head coach Jonathan McKinstry is happy with the display of his charges so far despite squad rotations. He said that the rotations were necessary to manage the squad and get to the knock out stage when all the players are fresh. Uganda finished group A with 12 points in four games.

Uganda will play Tanzania this Tuesday at Lugogo after Kenya plays Eritrea in the afternoon at the same venue. “Most of these players have over 100 minutes in their legs which is a good thing. We have managed the squad well and at the squad rotations have at the same time given opportunity to all players to play. That rotation has given platform to all players to perform. Uganda against Tanzania is always a difficult game and it is my first time as Uganda Coach to play against Tanzania. Tanzania is a boggy team and they are very competitive in the tournament so far. We have got to be ready,” noted McKinstry, who made rotations in the side that beat Djibouti over the weekend.

Uganda Cranes whipped Djibouti in their last group fixture of the Cecafa Senior challenge Cup on Sunday at the StarTimes stadium, Lugogo.

This was the second game of the day after Somalia and Eritrea played to a goalless draw for Eritrea to progress as group A Runners up with 7 points in four games.

Muzamir Mutyaba, Joachim Ojera, Ben Ocen and Bright Anukani netted scored the goals with only Mutyaba’s 14th minute penalty coming in the opening half. Haron Muhamed scored Djibouti’s consolation in the 70th minute.

The finals are slated for Thursday at a yet to be confirmed venue. Defending champions Kenya were shocked by Eritrea after a 4-1 defeat in the earlier semifinal.

Confirmed Uganda XI: Charles Lukwago (GK) (KCCA FC), Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), John Revita (KCCA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Joachim Ojera (URA FC), Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Ben Ocen (Police FC).

Subs: Joel Mutakubwa (GK) (Kyetume), Musitafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Paul Mbowa (URA FC), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Nicolas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC, Steven Mukwala (Maroons FC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Viane Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here