Home Football McKinstry lands Uganda record 15th Cecafa title

McKinstry lands Uganda record 15th Cecafa title


Cecafa Senior Challenge

Final: Uganda Cranes 3-0 Eritrea

Third place play off: Tanzania 1-2 Kenya

Individual Accolades:

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Robel Teklemichael (Eritrea)

Best Goalkeeper: Charles Lukwago (Uganda)

Top Scorer: Oscar Wamalwa (Kenya) – Three goals

Uganda lifted their record 15th Cecafa Senior challenge Cup title after beating Eritrea 3-0 in the final.played on Thursday at the Startimes Stadium, Lugogo. Goals from Bright Anukani, Mustafa Kizza and substitute Joel Madondo were enough to grant Uganda a second win at Eritrea in the tournament after opening 2-0 in group stage.

Joel Madondo celebrates his goal in Cecafa final

“It’s been a good tournament for us. We knew its was going to be very tight but we managed our schedule well. We missed many good chances but we have managed to show that we have enough quality to score goals,” noted Jonathan McKinstry, the Uganda Cranes head coach.

Uganda was dominated in possession but showed quality upfront in a game that would go either side. This was McKinstry’s first Cecafa title in four years where he has played two finals. The Northern Ireland tactician lost to Uganda in 2015 final while in charge of Rwanda. Anukani openesld scoring after receiving from Allan Okello before squeezing at near post.

The Proline midfielder orchestrated play, controlled tempo and dominated proceedings -getting involved in all the three goals. Anukani started the attack when he found Karim Watambala before the Vipers SC midfielder laid for Kizza to blasted home the second. Anukani also fed Ben Ocen whose well weighed delivery was poked in by substitute Madondo. Eritrea were dominant but lacked a cutting edge despite troubling Cranes defence through out the entire game.

Uganda Cranes Cecafa captain Halid Lwaliwa

“Uganda is not an easy team. We missed many chances but am very proud of my boys. This is the first final for Eritrea and it shows how far we have come. Congratulations to Uganda, it was a good moment,” noted Eritrea coach Alemseghed Efrem Haile.

Uganda has now won the title in 1973, 1976, 1977, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2015.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here