Home Basketball City Oilers proves a team of the decade with 7th straight title

City Oilers proves a team of the decade with 7th straight title

City Oilers celebrate their 7th league title

Sunday result
UCU Canons 56-72 City Oilers
(Oilers win 4-3)


City Oilers legacy leaves on and the side has proved this with its 7th straight league title. This came after Nicholas Natuhereza’s young Uganda Christian University (UCU) Canons fumbled down the stretch to lose the title to Oilers. The Mukono side lost to Oilers in a thrilling game seven to take a record straight seventh title –one title more than Falcons.

Oilers had their victory under threat when UCU recovered from 3-1 to level the series 3-3. Landry Ndikumana led the way with a game-high 26 points and 11 rebounds before Jimmy Enabu (16) and James Okello (14) combined for 30 points.

David Deng Kongor and Titus Lual had 21 and 13 points respectively for the Canons in a losing effort. The defending champions set the tone with a 17-9 lead after the first quarter in a fully packed Lugogo Arena.

The Canons came into the playoffs as number one seeding and proved resilient when Titus Lual scored 11 points for UCU to trail 26-27 at halftime. It was a back and forth exchange before the Oilers broke away to take an eight-point lead into the last quarter en route sealing victory. City Oilers coach Mandy Juruni, who has been in charge of all the side’s titles, also won the women’s title as an assistant when JKL sealed their second straight title.

The Past Winners

1996: Power
1997: Charging Rhino
1998: Falcons
1999: Falcons
2000: Power
2001: Sky Jammers
2002: Falcons
2003: Falcons
2004: Falcons
2005: Nkumba Marines
2006: Nkumba Marines
2007: Falcons
2008: Power
2009: Warriors
2010: Power
2011: Power
2012: Warriors
2013: City Oilers
2014: City Oilers
2015: City Oilers
2016: City Oilers
2017: City Oilers
2018: City Oilers
2019: City Oilers

Attachments area


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here