Home Football Ssimbwa hands Bbosa first loss at Express

Ssimbwa hands Bbosa first loss at Express

Issa Lumu of Express FC

StarTimes Uganda premier league

Tuesday results

Proline 2-1 Tooro United

Express 1-2 URA

Busoga United 1-0 Wakiso Giants

Wasswa Bbosa was handed his first loss at Express FC as the Red Eagles fell to URA 2-1 at home on Tuesday in the headlining StarTimes Uganda premier league match played behind closed doors at the Betway Muteesa II stadium, Wankulukuku.

Ntege Anwar and Mikidad Ssenyonga with their first goals of the campaign scored for the four-time champions while Frank Kalanda’s strike in the second half proved to be a consolation for the hosts.

This was Express FC’s first league game at Wankulukuku since it was reopened by the FUFA club licensing committee and the side remain 11th with 28 points while Sam Ssimbwa’s side move to 40 points despite staying 4th on the table.

The Visitors looked the better side from onset; with dominant possession which paid off in just 15 minutes of play when Ssenyonga scored off Saidi Kyeyune’s corner kick with a remarkable curler.

Five minutes into the second half, substitute Anwar who replaced Daniel Isiagi doubled the lead with a header off shafik Kagimu’s cross from the right. Kyeyune’s shot rattled the woodwork after being deflected by goalkeeper Mathias Muwanga.

Mandela Ashraf was the Pilsner Man of the match

In the 72nd minute, Kalanda pulled one back off after Frank Ssenyondo’s initial shot was blocked. URA FC will host Police in their next fixture next month while Express FC will travel to Luzira to play Maroons


Express – Mathias Muwanga, Cyrus Kibande, Arthur Kiggundu, Isa Lumu, Martin Kizza, Daniel Shabena, Lawrence Kigonya, Eric Kambale, Disan Galiwango, Isaac Mweru Doka, Frank kalanda.

Substitutes – Tony Kyamera, Muhammad Yiga, Ivan Ocholit, Sadiq Sekyemba, Frank Ssenyondo, Baker Lukooya, Enock Ssebaggala.

URA FC – Nafian Alionzi, Ashraf Mandela, Hudu Mulikyi, Benjamin Kyakoojo, Brian Majwega, Julius Mutyaba, Saidi Kyeyune, Shafik Kagimu, Mikidadi Ssenyonga, Michael Birungi, Daniel Isiagi.

Substitutes – Samuel Mwaka, Ronald Kigongo, Ivan Sserubiri, Hassan Kalega, Ivan Ntege, Patrick Mbowa, Anwaru Ntege.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here