Home Football Gomba Need About 300M For Masaza Cup

Gomba Need About 300M For Masaza Cup


In their bid to secure a fifth Masaza Cup title during the 2020 edition, Gomba Ssaza team need about Three Hundred Million Seventy Hundred Twenty Thousand (300,720,000) Shillings to ensure a smooth ride to glory.

According to the team Chairman Mansoor Kabugo, the four time winners (2004, 2009, 2014 and 2017) are keen to reclaim lost glory and will be working along that financial margin..

An optimistic Kabugo revealed that the monies is expected to be generated from sponsors, key partners, sale of merchandise, fundraising, tokens from committee members, well wishers, including gate collections.

With the team’s organizing committee having a cast of reputable individuals across various walks of life, itself is expected to generate a good ratio of monies for this year’s Masaza staging.

Among others, the money is meant for; For buying players, goal nets, boots, jerseys, truck suits, balls, office work, transport, training camp, trials, match allowances for players and officials.

Kabugo however urges the Gomba community to rally behind the team in anyway possible including being the twelfth player.

“United we stand. I call upon the people of Gomba to join hands and support this committee and executive committee. We need ideas, constructive criticisms, proposals and any other means of collaboration” Kabugo said.

All the 18 Masaza (Counties) teams in Buganda Kingdom will once again vie for glory in this year’s outing. The date for kickoff will be communicated after the ban on sports is lifted but organizers are reportedly plotting for October.

The tournament will be played on group stage format with successful teams going past the preliminary round.

Bulemeezi is the defending champion of this 17-year old tournament.

Gomba Management team:

Patron: Sam Rwakoojjo

Chairman: Mansoor Kabugo

Vice Chairman: Gerald Byansi

Team Manager: Jafari Kalule

Treasurer: Hon. Robina Rwakoojjo

Vice Treasurer: Rogers Yiga

Secretary: Robert Barigye

Head of Media: David Isabirye

Vice Media: Mohammed Ssali

Stadium Manager: Bashir Musoke Nsubuga

Security Coordinator: Eric Tusabe

Head of Protocol: Rev. Wilberforce Ssekasiko

Team Coordinator: Latif Lubega

Welfare: Kalebu Sonko

Assistant Welfare: Aminah Nabiddo

Transport Coordinator: Isa Ssemanda

Members on Executive Committee: Joseph Sserwada, Nakasita Aminah Biru, Eriab Kamya

Masaza Cup Previous Winners:

2019: Bulemeezi

2018: Singo

2017: Gomba

2016: Buddu

2015: Singo

2014: Gomba

2013: Mawokota

2012: Bulemeezi

2011: Buluri

2010: Not Held

2009: Gomba

2008: Kyadondo

2007: Mawokota

2006: Kooki

2005: Mawokota

2004: Gomba


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here