Home Cricket Aziz Damani Hurricanes Win Women’s Elite T20 League

Aziz Damani Hurricanes Win Women’s Elite T20 League


Aziz Damani Hurricanes were on Sunday crowned champions of the inaugural UCA (Uganda Cricket Association) Women’s Elite T20 League tournament held at Lugogo Cricket Oval.

The two-franchise team series played in three days (Friday – Sunday) saw Hurricanes beat Challenger Blizzards thrice in the five scheduled matches.

Blizzards only win came on the final day (Sunday) when they beat Hurricanes by 13 runs after posting 60/9.

“It’s been tough for us but we thank God that we got this one win and we’re happy for it. We haven’t been training that’s why all this has happened but we believe we shall come back stronger in the next league,” Kevin Awino, Blizzards Captain said adding that it’s a good feeling returning to the oval ever since around March when competitive play was halted due to COVID-19.

The first game of the series (Friday morning) was washed out due to inclement weather but Hurricanes won the afternoon game by a whopping 10 wickets.

Hurricanes ensured series was won on Saturday, claiming 8 runs and 8 wickets triumphs respectively to head into the Sunday morning fixture without a thing to lose.

“I can’t say the tournament has been that good because we haven’t been playing cricket but at least we tried our level best and won three games,” Hurricanes Captain Immaculate Nakisuyi said after lauding UCA and sponsors for holding the tournament.

Nakisuyi attributed Hurricanes win to team work and determination but she has now set sight to next year with a host of activities awaiting the cricket fraternity.

Hurricanes won a cash prize of Sh. 2M with player of the Series Christine Anayo (Damani Hurricanes) walking back home with 100k.

The tournament was sponsored by Aziz Damani, Metro Tyres, PEPSI and Lato Milk, India Association of Uganda.

The ladies showpiece which will possibly cap this year’s competitive activities happened a few weeks after the men’s series was also held at the same venue. Aziz Damani Scorpions won the men’s three-team series that was played in a period of one week.

Women’s Elite T20 League Individual Awards:

*Best Batsman – Rachael Ntono (Damani Hurricanes)

*Best Fielder – Immaculate Nakisuyi (Damani Hurricanes)

*Best Wicketkeeper – Maria Nyende Kagoya (Damani Hurricanes)

*Best Bowler – Christine Anayo (Damani Hurricanes)

*Player of the Series – Christine Anayo (Damani Hurricanes)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here