Home Football CHAN 2020: Uganda Ejected Out At Group Stage

CHAN 2020: Uganda Ejected Out At Group Stage


Total CHAN 2020 Finals -Cameroon

Group C Results- @Stade Reunification- Douala

Morocco 5-2 Uganda

Rwanda 3-2 Togo

Uganda Cranes have been ejected out of the CHAN (Africa Nations Championship) 2020 tournament after a 2-5 loss to defending champions Morocco Atlas Lions at Stade Reunification- Douala in Cameroon.

The Group C match day three group stage fixture was an opportunity for all the four nations to make the cut to the knock out stage level but it was Morocco and Uganda’s neighbors Rwanda who came atop after they (Rwanda) won 3-2 against Togo in the other fixture.

Cranes had a promising display in the earlier stages of the first half as Ibrahim Orit drilled first blood in the 25th minute.

However, in the final minute of the first half, Ayoub El Kaabi leveled matters as Atlas Lions evened scores by break time.

Morocco maintained their pursuit for victory and in the 53rd minute they took the lead courtesy of Soufiane Rahimi’s strike.

In the 70th minute, Morocco seemed to have put the game out of sight for Uganda when Hamza El┬áMoussaoui doubled his side’s lead.

In the 81st minute, Morocco’s Soufiane got his brace as Uganda seemed to have run out of ideas.

With the game surely ‘over,’ Saidi Kyeyune scored a consolation for Uganda but Morocco replied moments later to seal a comprehensive 5-2 and send Uganda packing.

It is the fifth straight time Uganda Cranes are eliminated from the CHAN tournament.

Cranes leave Cameroon with just one point from three group stage games. Group leaders Morocco have seven points, Rwanda have five points while Togo who were also shown the exit have three points.

Uganda Starting XI

Charles Lukwago (GK), Aziz Kayondo, Denis Iguma, Mustafa Mujuzi, Halid Lwaliwa (c), Shafik Kagimu, Bright Anukani, Saidi Kyeyune, Viane Ssekajugo, Ibrahim Orit, Brian Aheebwa.

Morocco Starting XI

Anas Znati (GK), Yahya Jabrane, Mohamed Ali, Ayoub El Kaabi, Reda Jaadi, Hamza El Houssaoui, Soufiane Boufthi, Soufiane Rahmi, Omar Namsaoui, Adam Ennafati, Abdel Boutouil.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here