Home Volley Ball UVF Elections: Nalinya Unveils Key Points For New Executive

UVF Elections: Nalinya Unveils Key Points For New Executive


Nalinya Faridah Nabada is contesting for the position of 2nd Vice President of Uganda Volleyball Federation (UVF) with the federation’s Elective Congress set for Sunday, 31st January 2021 at the Uganda Olympic Committee (UOC) premises in Kampala.

The position of 2nd Vice President is reserved for only ladies and Nalinya will be up against the pair of Helen Nakimuli and Kairungi Salma Otika.

Nalinya who is co-founder of Espoir Volleyball club has played, coached, managed and officiated volleyball and believes that her passion for the game will help guide the federation to the right direction.

Nalinya has further come out to state key points the executive should work on once she is elected into office.

“We need to secure more easier and accessible play areas in Kampala for the central region clubs that will give opportunities to clubs that have a number of working members to be able to play on Saturdays after lunch and to have more fans watching,” Nalinya said via a missive.

“There should be expansion of interest of volleyball to the youth and the kids in pre-school and primary. There is a number of young generations but we would like to see it get bigger, and the younger they start the better opportunities to get scholarships in universities and studying abroad,” Nalinya added.

Nalinya also hinted on rejuvenation of beach volleyball which she says is not as wide spread as it used to be 10years ago.

“I would love to see artificially constructed beach courts in Kampala to sell our sport since the current challenge we have at the moment is the receding lake shores that limit the number of courts that could be utilized,” Nalinya said.

Nalinya has also promised to root for more refresher courses for referees and improving interest for the game in order to create better opportunities for more Ugandan referees to get international officiating.

Other elective positions of UVF office bearers are as follows: 1. The President, 2. 1st Vice President, 3. 2nd Vice President, 4. General Secretary, 5. Assistant General Secretary, 6. Treasurer, 7. Club Representative (3) and 8. District Associations Representatives (3).

The list for the candidates is as follows;

1. Hadija Namanda
2. Eddie Douglas Okila
3. Sadik Zaid Nasiwu

1st Vice President:
1. Anthony Ashaba
2. Abdallah Kiggundu
3. Stephen Ardone Waiswa

2nd Vice President.
1. Salma Kairungi Otika
2. Hellen Nakimuli
3. Faridah Nalinya

General Secretary:
1.Hassan Lubinga Sekajolo
2. Godwin Nakaana Ssenyondo

Assistant General Secretary:
1. Eunice Nuwabigaba
2. Margarete Kiiza

1. Adam Mugisha
2. Philbert Mutabazi
3. Joseph Odong

District Representatives:
1. Vincent Ingurat (East\North)
2. Elisha Kamuhimbise (West\South)
3. Innocent Komakech (East\North)
4. John Bosco Omugen (East\North)
5. Joshua Osiya (Central)

Premier Club Representatives:
1. Levian Ashaba
2. Keneth Masaba
3. Cissy Musiime
4. Keneth Wakibi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here