Home Football AFCON U20 Mini Tournament: Uganda Ready For Tanzania Clash

AFCON U20 Mini Tournament: Uganda Ready For Tanzania Clash


As part of AFCON U20 preparations, Uganda will play Tanzania in a Mini Tournament on Wednesday 3rd February 2021 at Chamazi Stadium in Dar es Salaam.

Both teams will represent the CECAFA region at the AFCON U20 finals to be hosted by Mauritania.

Uganda will also play against Namibia before flying to Mauritania for the AFCON U20 Finals.

Uganda Hippos Head Coach Morley Byekwaso believes it is time for his hunters upfront to test their scoring abilities.

He further stated that playing against Tanzania gives him a good picture of how the Hippos can match with other opponents in the Final AFCON

AFCON U20 Mini Tournament
Team Uganda Getting ready for the AFCON U20 Mini Tournament fixture with Tanzania

‘We have worked well on our attacking department. We need to practice more on scoring goals as it will help us a lot in the Final Tournament. The game against Tanzania in the Mini Tournament will help us find out how much  work has been done in attack.  There is no win that comes without scoring.  My boys are hunters, they are thirsty for goals and will score. It will be a good test’ said Byekwaso

For the AFCON U20 finals, Uganda Hippos are in Group A and will play against Mozambique in the first match on 15th February 2021. The second match will be on 17th February against Cameroon before going head-to-head with the hosts Mauritania in the last group match on 20th February 2021.

AFCON U20 Mini Tournament

Squad in Tanzania

Komakech Jack (18) (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa).


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Abdul Azizi Kayondo (Vipers SC)


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC) Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew (KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here