Home Golf Entebbe Ladies Open: Babirye Is Day One Leader

Entebbe Ladies Open: Babirye Is Day One Leader

Babirye aims to drive her ball off the bunker to the putting green on Friday. Courtesy Photo

Martha Babirye shot 1-over par (72 gross) to emerge day one leader at the 11th staging of the Entebbe Ladies Open that teed-off on Friday, March 5th 2021 at Entebbe Club’s par-71 golf course.

Babirye, the 2020 Uganda Open Ladies event winner could claim her first Entebbe Ladies Open title during the final round of play this Saturday if she still stays atop a strong pack of lady golfers who graced the two-day showpiece.

“I just played the course the way it was and I will continue that way,” Babirye, handicap 3 noted after her final round with the Uganda Golf Club star adding that; “I will keep with my game strategy. I do believe to I can win it.”

Current title holder and six straight times winner, Irene Nakalembe who is playing on home course had a bit slower start to this year’s staging finishing fifth with 8-over par 79.

Former Uganda Ladies Golf Union (ULGU) President Eva Magala is second with just two strokes behind Babirye (3-over par 74) whilst Judith Komugisha is third with 6-over par 77.

2016 winner  Iddy Madina from Tanzania is tied fourth with Ugandan pair of Gloria Mbaguta and Resty Nalutaaya with 7-over par 78.

Mercy Nyanchama and Peace Kabasweka are tied eighth off 9-over par 80 whilst Tiko Lukia caps the top ten with 12-over par 83.

However, a subsidiary event that will include male players will be played on Saturday.

The event’s 19th-hole experience will be held in a cocktail setting on Saturday. It will be a brief event (between 5 :30 p.m and 8 p.m) but with required spacing as per the SOPs and the timing is also aimed at enabling participants beat the 9 p.m nation-wide curfew.

The event’s sponsors are; Britam Insurance, Roke Telkom, NCBA Bank, Gately on Nile and Uganda Airlines.

Entebbe Ladies Open Past Winners:

2011: Jasper Kamukama (Uganda)
2012: Flavia Namukula (Uganda)
2013: Iddi Madina (Tanzania)
2014: Monica Ntege (Uganda)
2015: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
2016: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
2017: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
2018: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
2019: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)
2020: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here