Home Football Gomba Win Fifth Masaza Cup Title

Gomba Win Fifth Masaza Cup Title

Gomba Captain hoists the Masaza trophy. He was flanked by Buganda Kingdom officials

Masaza Cup 2020 Final
*Gomba Lions 3-1 Buddu

Classification Match
*Busiro 0(5)-0(3) Buleemezi

Gomba Lions on Saturday claimed their fifth Buganda Masaza Cup title after registering a 3-1 victory against Buddu Ssaza side during the tournament’s 2020 final held at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

Top scorer Charles Bbaale who ended the campaign on eight goals, defender Gift Fred and George Kaddu scored for Gomba while Buddu’s only goal was netted in by Titus Ssematimba.

Bbaale put Gomba infront just inside three minutes of play after capitalizing on Jackson Ssemugabi’s cross from the left hand side of the pitch.

Two minutes later, Buddu who were in pursuit for a second title since 2016 evened scores after Ssematimba capitalizing on Ssengendo Sharif’s corner kick to head home.

Gomba were quick to respond as George Kaddu struck a thunderous 35-yard free kick in the 12th minute to send Buddu back to the drawing board.

In the 17th minute, Gomba put the game out of reach for their rivals when Gift Fred doubled his side’s lead.

Unfortunately, what would have been a goal galore ended in a 3-1 win for Gomba with four goals scored in the space of 17 minutes.

Gomba now wins a record fifth Masaza Cup title having triumphed during the 2004, 2009, 2014 and 2017 stagings.

However, in the classification match (3rd/4th place), Busiro beat Buleemezi 5-3 on penalties after both sides settled for a barren stalemate at full time.

The 2020 Masaza Cup staging spilled over onto 2021 after preparations were disrupted by COVID-19.

Team Line Ups:

Gomba XI:

Francis Anguzu (G.K -18), Hamis Kefero Dagada (2), George Kaddu (16), Abdallah Ssentongo (26 – Captain), Fred Gift (17), Fred Atuhwera (13), Ali Bayo Arshavin (6), George Kiryowa (15), Jackson Ssemugabi (11), Junior Juma Lutakome (9), Charles Bbaale (14)
Subs: Peter Katongole (G.K – 1), Derrick Mbowa (21), Ashraf Zizinga (10), Isaac Musiima (20), Colline Seruwu (7)

Coach: Ibrahim Kirya

Buddu XI:

Farouk Yawe Ssebanja (G.K – 18, Captain), Angello Kizza (15), Edward Namasa (4), Gideon Odongo (13), Missi Ssemugera (6), Fahad Nsamba (12), Titus Ssematimba (10), Sharif Ssengendo (5), Marvin Kavuma (7), Jibril Nsimbe (21), Frank Sebuufu (14)

Subs: Nazir Obbo (1), Farouk Sekayi (11), Jovan Mawejje (8), Emmanuel Mwesigwa (9)

Coach: Lukyamuzi Micheal

Masaza Cup Previous Winners:
2020: Gomba
2019: Bulemeezi
2018: Singo
2017: Gomba
2016: Buddu
2015: Singo
2014: Gomba
2013: Mawokota
2012: Bulemeezi
2011: Buluri
2010: Not Held
2009: Gomba
2008: Kyadondo
2007: Mawokota
2006: Kooki
2005: Mawokota
2004: Gomba


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here