Home Golf Irene Nakalembe Wins 7th Successive Entebbe Ladies Open

Irene Nakalembe Wins 7th Successive Entebbe Ladies Open

Irene Nakalembe Wins 7th Successive Entebbe Ladies Open
Nakalembe hoists the Entebbe Ladies Open trophy that she is going to keep for good after winning it seven straight times

Irene Nakalembe has further stretched her dominance at the Entebbe Ladies Open after winning a seventh successive title during the event’s 11th edition that came to a close on Saturday, 6th March 2021 at Entebbe Club’s par-71 golf course.

In the final round, Irene Nakalembe, playing on home course, was not even in the pressure group of the two-day event but managed to come out triumphant with a total gross score of 147 (5-over par).

Irene Nakalembe Wins 7th Successive Entebbe Ladies Open
The pressure group of the Entebbe Ladies Open didn’t have Nakalembe

Having finished fifth on day one with 8-over par 79, Nakalembe reduced her strokes by 11 on day two having shot 3-under par 68.

“It feels good to come from behind and emerge winner. However, I didn’t intend to come from behind, I just had a bad start but thank God I was able to recover very well,” Nakalembe, handicap four said after receiving her silverware at the 18th hole.

Irene Nakalembe Wins 7th Successive Entebbe Ladies Open
Nakalembe had a slow start to the event shooting 8-over par 79 on day one

Irene Nakalembe will now keep the accolade in the trophy cabinet for good with the organizers set to get a new one for the next do.

2020 Uganda Open Ladies event champion, Martha Babirye had been tipped to get off the mark at this year’s Entebbe Ladies Open after emerging day one winner off 1-over par 72, seven strokes better than Nakalembe. However, she returned 6-over 77 in the final round, and this coupled with Nakalembe’s incredible comeback made her finish second with 7-over par 149.

“I had her (Babirye) in my mind ahead of the final round and I am grateful that I was able to do very well,” Nakalembe who had six birdies on day two and one birdie on day one revealed.

With this year’s Uganda Open returning to Entebbe Club in August after a two-year hiatus, Nakalembe is hopeful of getting the most sought for domestic accolade at her grasp as she hopes to bank on home advantage to break the championship duck.

However, former Uganda Ladies Golf Union (ULGU) President, Eva Magala maintained her third position in over two rounds returning 8-over par 150 off 36 holes.

Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort Shifts Focus To Improving Course Condition

Third Junior Golf Open Held At Entebbe Club

Nahabwe Upbeat Ahead of Singleton Matchplay Challenge Final

Nahabwe, Adoch Win Singleton Matchplay Challenge

Respective winners and podium finishers received prizes and goodie bags from the tournament sponsors.

The event’s sponsors were; Britam Insurance, Roke Telkom, NCBA Bank, Gately on Nile and Uganda Airlines.

For Nakalembe, she received an air ticket from Uganda Airlines, accomodation voucher from Gately on Nile among other goodies from other sponsors.

Entebbe Ladies Open Winners:

2011: Jasper Kamukama (Uganda)

2012: Flavia Namukula (Uganda)

2013: Iddi Madina (Tanzania)

2014: Monica Ntege (Uganda)

2015: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)

2016: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)

2017: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)

2018: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)

2019: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)

2020: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)

2021: Irene Nakalembe (Uganda)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here