Home Football AFCON Qualifiers: Cranes draw with Burkina Faso

AFCON Qualifiers: Cranes draw with Burkina Faso

AFCON Qualifiers: Cranes draw with Burkina Faso
Uganda is still second on the group B standings. (PHOTO/FUFA)

AFCON Qualifiers Results: Uganda 0-0 Burkina Faso
Wednesday 24th March

The Uganda Cranes drew 0-0 with Burkina Faso in their AFCON qualifier played on Wednesday at Kitende.

Uganda looked to be the better side but could not break down a resolute Burkina Faso defence.

Faruku Miya and Ibrahim Orit both had efforts come-back off the upright in a tense battle.

Miya turned Moses Wasswa’s cross onto the post while Orit who came on for Abdu Lumala, at the start of the second half headed an attempt onto the frame of the goal off of Miya’s corner.

It was a game that had little to write home about in the first half as both side sat deep and tried to neutralise the other.

Joseph Ochaya found room in the area but shot straight at Koffi Herve in the visitor’s goal as Uganda created the better chances.

For the Stallions, Charles Kabure’s shot from outside the box, which went over, was their only decent attempt on the Ugandan goal.

The result sees Burkina Faso qualify for the AFCON finals in Cameroon early next year.

For Uganda, they now need to avoid defeat when they take on Malawi, away from home, on Monday to also book their ticket to the African football showpiece.

Burkina Faso still lead the way in group B with 9 points while Uganda is second on 8. Malawi who beat South Sudan 1-0 on Wednesday are third on 7.

AFCON Qualifiers: Cranes eye crucial victory at home to Burkina Faso

Cranes to fly via chartered plane for Malawi game

FUFA Women Super league kick-off pushed forward

Onyango in, Israel based trio yet to arrive

How the two teams lined up


Denis Onyango (GK), Nicholas Wadada, Joseph Ochaya, Murushid Juuko, Halid Lwaliwa, Tadeo Lwanga, Mike Azira, Faruku Miya, Abdu Lumala, Emmanuel Okwi, Patrick Kaddu.

Burkina Faso

Koffi Herve (GK), Dabo Kevine, Abdou Traore, Mohamed Konate, Tapsoba Edmond, Dayo Issoufou, Charles Kabore, Betrand Traore, Cyrille Bayala, Steve Yago, Issa Kabore.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here