Home Hockey Philip Wafula Mulindo Is New Uganda Hockey Chairperson

Philip Wafula Mulindo Is New Uganda Hockey Chairperson

Philip Wafula is now at the helm of Uganda Hockey after winning at Saturday polls

Philip Wafula Mulindo beat Lydia Gloria Dhamuzungu to emerge new Chairperson of the Uganda Hockey Association (UHA) during the sport governing body’s Elective AGM held on Saturday at the NCS gym in Lugogo.

Wafula who has been the Uganda Hockey General Secretary got nine votes while Dhamuzungu who has been incumbent got three. 12 delegates from six clubs casted their votes in an election that was decided by an open ballot.

“I’m speechless! I want to thank all of you who have given us this mandate to serve you for the next four years,” Wafula told delegates after being announced winner by returning officer George Wagoogo.

Among other objectives, Wafula now seeks to bridge the gap between clubs that he says has been in existence for sometime now.

“Interestinngly, me and Lydia come from the same club (Weatherhead) but I was nominated by other teams that do not belong to me. I now want to bridge the gap between clubs and make sure we are one family,” Wafula said.

Wafula also aims to ‘sit down’ with his team and spell out both short and long term plans for the game with domestic competitive play still at a halt for over a year now due to COVID-19 disruptions.

“We must have a focus. Our target is not only Africa Cup of Nations (ACN) that will be held in Ghana next year but other engagements as well. We must have a focus; where do we want to see hockey in the immediate, medium and long term?,”

“We shall also work on grass roots development and as well take hockey beyond Kampala,” Wafula added saying that as away of reinstating competitive play, UHA will invent a mini league that will involve schools but domestic competitions will be reinstated as well.

UHA will also set lots of focus on national teams ahead of the ACN. The national teams (men and women) recently had a successful test series in Kenya where they attained international ranking after.

In the other races, former Publicity Secretary Joshua Opolot got nine votes to claim the position of Vice Chairperson. Incumbent Michael Nashimolo got no votes while Fatumah Namubiru had three.

Stanley Tamale who has been Assistant General Secretary is now Secretary General himself after getting eight votes against Joseph Kamin who had four.

Uganda Dominates Kenya In Men’s Hockey Test Matches

Hockey Trio Carrying Uganda’s Flag In Italy

Kenya – Uganda Test Matches: Men’s Teams Draw As Host Women…

Kenneth Tamale (10 votes) won in the treasurer race, Richard Ssemwogerere (eight votes) is new Organizing Secretary while Saddam Hussein (eight votes) is new Publicity Secretary.

Innocent Raskara, Martin Okello and Bridget Baine are new committee members. They were all unopposed.

New UHA Executive Committee

–Philip Wafula Mulindo

Vice Chairperson:
–Joshua Opolot

General Secretary:
–Stanley Tamale

–Kenneth Tamale

Organizing Secretary:
–Richard Ssemwogerere

Publicity Secretary:
–Saddam Hussein

Committee Members:
1. Innocent Raskara
2. Martin Okello
3. Bridget Baine

How Delegates Voted:

1. Lydia Gloria Dhamuzungu – 3
2. Philip Wafula Mulindo – 9

*Vice Chairperson:
1. Joshua Opolot – 9
2. Fatumah Namubiru – 3
3. Michael Nashimolo – 0

*General Secretary:
1. Joseph Kamin – 4
2. Stanley Tamale – 8

1. Kenneth Tamale – 10
2. Gerald Aquino Ssesaazi – 2

*Organizing Secretary:
1. Richard Ssemwogerere – 8
2. Daniel Kyaligonza – 4

*Publicity Secretary:
1. Saddam Hussein – 8
2. Moses Tushabe – 4

*Committee Members (Unopposed)
1. Innocent Raskara
2. Martin Okello
3. Bridget Baine


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here