Home Rugby Regional 10s To Kickstart Women’s Rugby

Regional 10s To Kickstart Women’s Rugby

Women's rugby will return this weekend after over a year hiatus. URU Photo

After over a one-year hiatus caused by COVID-19 disruptions, women’s rugby will finally return this weekend in the shape of Regional 10s.

Women’s 10s RTP competition will be played in satellite tournaments in three regions with each region holding three tournaments.

Tournaments will be held in the Eastern, Central and Northern regions of the country.

The Eastern region event will start on Saturday, 17th April 2021 in Mbale, Central region event will be played on Sunday, 18th April 2021 in Entebbe while the Northern event will be played on Saturday, 24th April in Kitgum. The regions will hold circuits after every seven days for three straight weeks.

After the circuits, a franchise team for women will assemble in Kampala to enable national team selectors pick players for future engagements.

The women’s teams will also have a national finals tournament at the conclusion of the regionals.

Participating Teams
Eastern: Mbale Eagles, Bumageni, Nyondo and Bugema.

Central: Black Swans, Black Diamonds, Ewes,Blue Whales, Lady Swans, AQRA, Black Pearls and Thunderbirds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here