Home Football Charles Lwanga strikes Late to see KCCA past Villa at Lugogo

Charles Lwanga strikes Late to see KCCA past Villa at Lugogo

Charles Lwanga strikes Late to see KCCA past Villa at Lugogo
Charles Lwanga celebrates after scoring against SC Villa on Sunday. (PHOTO/Courtesy)

Charles Lwanga strikes a Late winner to see KCCA past SC Villa at Lugogo in their Uganda Premier League Clash.

Uganda Premier League
KCCA FC 1-0 SC Villa
Omondi Stadium, Lugogo
Sunday, 18-04-2021

KCCA FC overcame a spirited SC Villa side 1-0 at Lugogo in the only Uganda Premier League game played on Sunday.

Substitute Charles Lwanga scored the only goal of a highly contested contest.

The former Villa player who had replaced Sam Ssenyonjo earlier in the second half, created his own chance before striking past Saidi Keni in the Villa goal with just 15 minutes to play.

It was a day that KCCA were the better side and were almost left to reflect on the several chances missed only for Lwanga to provide the much needed inspiration.

Ssenyonjo, Filbert Obenchan and Sadat Anaku all got into great position but could not apply the all-important touch.

For Villa, it was a frustrating afternoon that they will look back to and feel they could have done better.

They too had chances but Nicholas Kabonge, Ronald Olaki and Abdallah Salim could not find a way past Lukwago with their decent efforts.

Victory sees KCCA climb into 4th spot with 33 points, nine adrift of joint leaders Vipers and URA FC with 12 games to play.

For Villa who have now gone two games without scoring, they stay in sixth with 29 points.

In their upcoming fixtures, KCCA travels away to Mbarara City on April 21 while Villa are at home to URA FC.

KCCA, Villa renew acquaintance at Lugogo

Big League: Arua Hill Hold Mbale Heroes To Maintain Unbeaten Run

URA, Vipers register easy wins to maintain title charge

Uganda Martyrs unveil squad ahead of Women Elite League kick-off

Team Starters


Charles Lukwago(Gk), Herbert Achai, Peter Magambo, Ramathan Musa, Fillbert Obenchan, Denis Iguma, Bright Anukani, Hassan Jurua, Sadat Anaku, Samuel Senyonjo, Julius Poloto.

SC Villa

Said Keni (Gk), Fred Agandu, Gavin Kizito, Geoffrey Wasswa, Derrick Ndahiro, Amir Kakomo, Emmanuel Wasswa, Nicholas Kabonge,Ronald Ssekiganda, Muhammod Kagawa, Ronald Olaki



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here