Home Football Budo League: Peaky Blinders beat Accumulators to win fourth edition

Budo League: Peaky Blinders beat Accumulators to win fourth edition

Guinness Uganda Brand Manager - Elizabeth Mutamuliza (black top) hands over the trophy to the winning team

Guinness Budo League
Main Cup finals
* Peaky Blinders 2-0 Accumulators

Peaky Blinders are the champions of the fourth edition/Season 4 of the Budo League following their 2-0 win over Accumulators in the main cup final of the season finale held on Sunday at Legends Grounds in Kampala.

The Budo League, powered by Guiness is a 10-a-side football and socializing/networking event for the alumni of King’s College Budo. The teams are formed by the class years with the top four outfits in the regular season featuring in the main cup semis while fifth to eighth placed sides featuring in 2nd tier semis.

Peaky Blinders, class of 2014 finished first with 27 points in the regular season of the 13-team league and capitalized on their good display then to ‘seal it’ in a colorful crowning event.

Action between Peaky Blinders (green) and Accumulators in the main cup final

In the main cup semis, Peaky Blinders beat Thazoballo (class of 2005) 1-0 while Accumulators (class of 2003) beat Centurions (class of 2006) 3-1.

Meanwhile, in the George Ssemivule Cup (2nd tier) Abachuba emerged winners after a 1-0 win over Takoradi.

In the 2nd tier semis, Abachuba (class of 2012) beat Massape (class of 2004) 5-0 while Takoradi (class of 2011) beat Quadballo (class of 2008) 4-1.

Select sides from the SMACK (St Mary’s College Kisubi) and Ntare School leagues also graced the showpiece with the former beating Budo League select side 3-1 while the latter lost 1-0 to the hosts.

Individual Awards
*Best Goal Keeper – Brian Lutwama (Peaky Blinders)
*Best Defender – Aaron Ssenyondo (Peaky Blinders)
*Best Midfielder – Joshua Sengendo (Abachuba)
*Best Striker – Albert Kimumwe (Takoradi)
*Fair Play Team – Accumulators
*Fair Play Individual – Timothy Lugayizi (Jubilewos)
*Lady MVP – Sharon Natukunda (Accumulators)
*Male MVP – Albert Kimumwe (Takoradi)

Team of the season

*Conrad Kimbugwe (Peaky Blinders)

*Brian Lutwama (Peaky Blinders)

*Aaron Ssenyondo (Peaky Blinders)
*Isaac Muwanguzi (Accumulators)
*George Sendifa (Thazoballo)

*Joshua Sengendo (Abachuba)
*Jonathan Ssentamu (Peaky Blinders)
*Jonah Byakutaaga (Thazoballo)

*Alvin Serukenya (Thazoballo)
*Albert Kimumwe (Takoradi)
*Sharon Natukunda (Accumulators)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here