Home Golf Mutaka, Li Xia emerge overall winners at Captain’s Bell Golf Tournament

Mutaka, Li Xia emerge overall winners at Captain’s Bell Golf Tournament

Overall winners Li Xia (left) and Mutaka (right) are joined on the podium by Absa Bank Uganda Managing Director Mumba Kalifungwa (middle).

Captain’s Bell Golf Tournament
Overall Winners:
Men – Aggrey Mutaka (65 nett)
Ladies – Lin Li Xia (60 nett)
Professional Winner: Ronald Rugumayo (139 gross)

Aggrey Mutaka and Lin Li Xia emerged overall winners in the men’s and ladies’ categories respectively at the main event (amateurs category) of the Captain’s Bell Golf Tournament held on Saturday at Uganda Golf Club’s (UGC) par-72 course in Kitante.

Mutaka returned 65 nett while Li Xia had 60 nett. The pair won a mini bar fridge each.

The event that was powered by Absa Bank, Uganda was played primarily to usher in new UGC Captain, Patrick Billy and his committee which comprises of his Vice Captain/Course Secretary – Dr Alex Coutinho, Treasurer – Patrick Kagoro and others.

With Captain Patrick Billy not around, it was Vice Captain/Course Secretary Alex Coutinho instead who ceremoniously rang the bell to usher in the new leadership of the club.

“We are here to mark the beginning of a new chapter of leadership of UGC, it’s a very remarkable day for the club. This is going to be a very exciting year because we are going to revamp the club house, golf course and also revamp some of the events that didn’t happen last year to ensure our members and guests always have a good experience here,” Dr Coutinho said moments before ringing the bell.

Speaking at the 19th hole, Absa Bank Uganda Managing Director Mumba Kalifungwa revealed that being part of the tournament is one of the partnerships they treasurer a lot.

“The Captain’s Bell is symbolic because it symbolizes new beginnings and we are very proud to be part of this. I wish the new club leadership well,” Kalifungwa said.

Meanwhile, in the ladies groups, Brenda Maraka emerged Group A winner off 65 nett while Wendy Angudeyo beat Anne Abeja on count back (68 nett) to claim victory in Group B.

In the men’s groups, Herbert Olowo emerged Group C winner off 66 nett, Gary Gonza was Group B winner with 66 nett while Michael Obalim triumphed in Group A with 70 nett.

For the side bets, the longest drive was won by Gloria Mbaguta (ladies) and John Musiimenta (men) while nearest to the pin was won by Ruth Ssali (ladies) and Robert Busingye (men).

Former UGC Captain, Jackson Karyarugookwe emerged best senior in the men’s category with 70 nett while Ruth Ssali returned 77 nett to become best senior in the ladies category.

Rodell Gaita was guest winner while the now seemingly famous ‘Piga Mingi’ gong was claimed by Agatha Abaho who had 138 nett.

However, local professional Ronald Rugumayo shot an overall 5-under par 139 in two rounds to win the professional category of the event that ended a day earlier.

Other partners for the tournament were; Johnnie Walker, Pepsi and Wine To Be.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here