Home Golf Focus on all-female teams at Singleton Matchplay Challenge Round One

Focus on all-female teams at Singleton Matchplay Challenge Round One

Bridget Nakamoga (pictured) is partnering with Maxi Byenkya and will face a mixed pair of Collins Mwesiga and Jackie Kwesiga

Event: Singleton Matchplay Challenge – Round One
Date: 29th May 2021
Venue: Entebbe Club

Five all-female teams will be in the mix when 64 pairs of golfers tee-off in the first round of the main event of the fifth season of the Singleton Matchplay Challenge on Saturday at Entebbe Club’s par-71 golf course.

The five all-female pairs that made it from the qualifiers held last month are; 2018 winners Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime, Anne Abeja/Ritah Akot Apell, Ruth Mugisha/Grace Njeri, Maxi Byenkya/Bridget Nakamoga and Wendy Angudeyo/Doreen Mwesigye.

There is an assurance of another all-female team in the next round as Kabasweka/Kesiime will be up against fellow all-female team of Mugisa/Njeri on Saturday.

In the other matchup involving an all-female team, Uganda Ladies Golf Union (ULGU) President and Vice, Anne Abeja/Ritah Akot Apell will be up against an all-male pair of Stanley Muhwezi/Edwin Tumusiime.

Byenkya/Nakamoga will face a mixed pair of Collins Mwesiga/Jackie Kwesiga while Angudeyo/Mwesigye will faced an all-male team of Joseph Adrapi/Robert Ejiku.

After round one, the subsequent rounds have been scheduled as follows; 26th June – Round two, 24th July – Round three, 21st August – Round four, 30th October Round five and 27th November – Grand finale.

Throughout the male-dominated championship, there will be a subsidiary event for players not participating in the match play. Lady golfer Sharon Musiimenta returned the best score of 59 nett during the qualification round to top the subsidiary category.

Singleton Challenge Past Winners:
2020: Innocent Nahabwe/Adoch Luwum
2019: Richard Lutwama/Robert Busingye
2018: Peace Kabasweka/Sheila Kesiime
2017: Isaac Mariera/John Muchiri


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here