Home Football Mukwala replaces Ssentamu as Cranes continue CECAFA preps

Mukwala replaces Ssentamu as Cranes continue CECAFA preps

Steven Mukwala was also a late inclusion to the Cranes team earlier in the month. (PHOTO/Courtesy)

URA FC striker Steven Mukwala has joined the Uganda Cranes team currently in Njeru.

The Cranes who are preparing for the upcoming CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup are understood to have shifted base from Paradise Hotel in Kisaasi to FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru over the weekend.

Vipers SC striker Yunus Ssentamu did not report to camp and has now been replaced by Mukwala.

Initially, Mukwala who top scores in the Uganda Premier League was not part of the team but just like it was the case in the build up to the international friendly against South Africa earlier in the month, he has been added to the fold.

SC Villa goalkeeper Saidi Keni has also not joined camp due to health concerns and doubts over Chippa United custodian Ismail Watenga’s involvement are also real as he remains to be engaged for his club side.

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) awaits to release the final traveling programme for the side that will take part in this year’s edition in Ethiopia.

The draw for the group stage of the competition was postponed from last Friday due to unclear reasons.

This year’s edition will feature U23 players with each nation allowed only four over-the players.

Uganda are the defending Champions of the competition having defeat Eritrea 3-0 in last year’s final played in Kampala.

With 15 past titles, the Cranes are also the record winners of CECAFA, 8 ahead of Kenya who are second in terms if past victories.

The Summoned CECAFA Squad


Ismail Watenga (Chippa United), Charles Lukwago (KCCA), Dennis Otim (Express FC), Saidi Keni (SC Villa), Eric Kibowa (UPDF), Hassan Matovu Muyomba (KCCA)


Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), James Penz Begisa (UPDF), Enock Walusimbi (Express), Abdul Aziizi Kayondo (Vipers SC), Derrick Ndahiro (SC Villa), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants), Murushid Juuko (Express), Ramathan Musa (KCCA), Kenneth Ssemakula (BUL), Peter Magambo (KCCA), Hillary Mukundane (Mbarara City)


Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Derrick Kiggundu (Soltilo Bright Stars), Abdul Karim Watambala (Vipers), Saidi Kyeyune (Unattached), Steven Sserwadda (KCCA FC), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants), Bright Anukani (KCCA), Isma Mugulusi (Busoga United), Nicholas Kabonge (SC Villa), Abdallah Salim (SC Villa)


Ivan Bogere (Wakiso Giants), Saddam Masereka (SC Villa), Julius Poloto (KCCA), Richard Basangwa (Vipers), Yiga Najib (Vipers), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline), Yunus Ssentamu (Vipers), Derrick Kakooza (Police), Samuel Ssenyonjo (KCCA), Sadat Anaku (KCCA), Frank Ssebufu (Wakiso Giants), Eric Kenzo Kambale (Express), Charles Lwanga (KCCA), Steven Mukwala (URA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here