Home Football Byekwaso names 25 for CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup

Byekwaso names 25 for CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup

Byekwaso (L) will take charge of this year's CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup team

Head coach Morley Byekwaso has announced his 25-man squad for the upcoming CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup.

The squad was announced on Tuesday night as before the team departed for Saudi Arabia for a training camp.

Sadat Anaku, Murushid Juuko, Frank Ssebuufu and Gavin Kizito are some of the high profile omissions from the initial 40-man squad that was summoned a couple of weeks ago.

The team is understood to have been training in Kisasi and later Njeru as they gear up for the tournament that will be in Ethiopia next month.

Express FC defender Enock Walusimbi will captain the side that also features three over-age player who include Charles Lukwago, Saidi Kyeyune and Steven Mukwala.

Police FC striker Derrick Kakooza who is on the brink of joining Belgium side RC Anderlecht has also been included in the team.

This year’s CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup will be contested by U23 players with three over-age players allowed to take part.

Uganda are the record (15) and current holders of the competition.

The final 25-man Squad


Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Eric Kibowa (UPDF FC), Matovu Hassan Muyomba (KCCA FC).


Enock Walusimbi (Express FC), Abdu Aziiz Kayondo (Vipers SC), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Kenneth Ssemakula (BUL FC), Magambo Peter (KCCA FC)


Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Abdul Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Kyeyune Saidi (Unattached), Steven Sserwadda (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (KCCA FC), Isma Mugulusi (Busoga United FC), Salim Abdallah (SC Villa).


Mukwala Stephen Dese (URA FC), Ivan Bogere (Wakiso Giants FC), Saddam Masereka (SC Villa), Julius Poloto (KCCA FC), Richard Bassangwa (Vipers SC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline FC), Derrick Kakooza (Police FC), Samuel Ssenyonjo (KCCA FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here