Home Rugby Uganda’s squad for Rugby Africa Cup named

Uganda’s squad for Rugby Africa Cup named

Rugby Africa Cup
Rugby Cranes (black) against Zimbabwe at a previous continental showpiece held at Kyadondo

Uganda’s squad for Rugby Africa Cup named

Rugby Cranes XVs Coach Brian Makalama has today, Monday, 5th July named the 28-man squad for the Rugby Africa Pool C games.

The Uganda Rugby Cranes will play their first game on Saturday 10th July 2021 against Ghana at Kyadondo Rugby Grounds at 3:00pm.

According to Makalama, the squad is a cocktail of senior players, rookies and newbies at national level.

”The selected team is a mixture of experience and youthfulness. We tried to get the team that has individuals with basic skills, individuals that are able to think on their own and individuals that are not shy to exploit their talent,” Makalama told Uganda Rugby Union (URU) media.

Eight players are poised to make their debuts, that is; Denis Etwau, Mark Omoding, Jacob Ochen, Joaquim Chisano, Kelvin Balagadde, Isaac Rujumba, Claude Otema and Alhaji Manano

The event forms a pathway to the 2023 Rugby World Cup with participants across the groups in the continent eyeing for one direct qualification spot into the final World Cup tournament in France and for one place in the final subsequent qualification tournament(s).

Elgon Cup: Annual Rugby XVs comepetition between Uganda and Kenya postponed

I feel good, says Ayera ahead of Monaco Repechage event

Kasito looks forward to Monaco Repechage event

Uganda Rugby Sevens squad for Monaco Repechage tournament named

Rugby Cranes will play host to Algeria on 18th July still at Kyadondo.

Selected squad.

1. Santos Ssenteza (Heathens)
2. Brian Odongo (KOBs)
3. Collin Kimbowa (KOBs)
4. Saul Kivumbi (KOBs)
5. Asuman Mugerwa (Kabras)
6. Faragi Odugo(KOBs)
7. Ronald Kanyanya (Heathens)
8. Robert Angualia Aziku (KOBs)
9. Eliphaz Emong (Hippos)
10. Joaquim Chissano Olwangu (Mongers)
11. Kelvin Balagadde Pirates
12. Byron Oketayot KOBs
13. Jacob Ochen (Hippos)
14. Desire Ayera Ruhweza (Pirates)
15. Isaac Rujumba Karugaba (Pirates)
16. Mark Omoding (Harlequins)
17. Paul Epilo (Heathens)
18. Aaron Ofoyrwoth (Heathens )
19. Ivan Magomu (Pirates )
20. Daudi Semwami (KOBs)
21. Pius Ogena (KOBs)
22. Justin Kimono Simwende (KOBs)
23. Alhaji Manano (KOBs)
24. Solomon Okia Saulo (Pirates )

25. Maxwell Ebonga (Hippos )
26. Claude Otema (Heathens)
27. Adrian Kasito (KOBs)
28. Denis Etwau (Hippos)

Debutants on the team

1. Denis Etwau

2. Mark Omoding

3. Jacob Ochen

4. Joaquim Chisano

5. Kelvin Balagadde

6. Isaac Rujumba

7. Claude Otema

8. Alhaji Manano


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here