Home Football UYFA grants 14 football academies full membership status

UYFA grants 14 football academies full membership status

UYFA incoming Roberts Kiwanuka (left) receiving Association Emblem from outgoing Chairman John Bosco Masiko

The Uganda Youth Football Association (UYFA) has approved 14 new football academies as its full members after they fulfilled set regulations to acquire approval for the same. This was confirmed during the association’s 14th Annual General Meeting (AGM) held virtually on Saturday, 10th July 2021 at its office located at the FUFA Special Interest Groups home in Lungujja, Kampala.

The issue of academy regulations was approved in the 22nd FUFA (Federation of Uganda Football Associations) Executive Committee meeting which was held in March 2020.
According to FUFA, the five key areas in regard to academy regulations are; governance, sporting, personnel and administration, finance plus infrastructure and equipment.

The 14 academies approved cut across the four regions of the country, that is; four from the East, six from Central, two from the West and two from the North.

The Eastern based academies are; Mbale Kids Soccer Academy, Mbale Sonset Soccer Academy, Amerigo Youth Soccer Academy Jinja and Youth Environment Service Academy (YES) Busia.

Central has Wakatayi Soccer Academy Luweero, Jean Sseninde United Academy Wakiso, Sparrows Sports Club Wakiso, FISPA Masaka all based in Bugand region. Everton Foundation Uganda Academy from Kawempe of Kampala region and Uganda Youth Football Academy also from Kawempe (but this one needs clarity on the name) have been approved.

Ishaka Ruins Soccer Academy and Kigezi Soccer Academy from Kabale are the only two approved academies from Western region.

Northern region has Kona Abicial Sports Academy Agago and Friends of Good will Soccer Academy from Apacia as the approved new academies.

New UYFA Chairman Roberts Kiwanuka said that the association is proud with the state of the approved academies and believes that they will help spur youth football development across the country.

“We have looked at the data base for academy registration and players data base for all academies which in turn will help in age differences and creating the right age category competitions. Regional empowerment will also be realized from where academies come from,” Kiwanuka said.

However, three academies were put on waiting to be confirmed as full members of UYFA. These are; Dalton Soccer Academy Lwengo, Divine Athletic Sports Academy Rubaga and Wagagai Warriors Soccer Academy Entebbe and they were given more time to submit in the supporting and appropriate documents for approval before the Executive Committee.

However, on the same day, UYFA also revealed the new executive committee that will be headed by its new Chairman, also Rays of Grace Academy Director Kiwanuka Roberts. Others are; Morrise Otidi (1st Vice Chairman), Farouk Kigongo (2nd Vice Chairman)
Mansoor Kabugo (Executive Committee member) and other members cutting across regions.

FUFA Deputy CEO Humphrey Mandu was Chief Guest at the AGM. He congratulated the outgoing and the incoming leadership for the spirit of the game, giving hope for the future of youth football in Uganda.

2021 UYFA AGM Chief Guest Humphrey Mandu (left) with new chairman Roberts Kiwanuka

“As a federation (FUFA), we are glad to have this kind of young men who are vibrant with very articulate ideas of taking youth football a head. The federation is very much a ware that the youth start the convey belt and the parent body deliver at the end,” Mandu said.

However, outgoing UYFA Chairman John Bosco Masiko encouraged new executive to put in more effort on the abilities of the Academy not matter the location because they always need follow up in order to match with the trend today.

UYFA Executive Committee

Roberts Kiwanuka – Chairman
Morrise Otidi – 1st Vice Chairman
Farouk Kigongo – 2nd Vice Chairman
Mansoor Kabugo – Executive Committee member
Gad Batuuse – Executive Committee member Eastern Region
Ibra Kakeeto – Executive Committee member Western Region
Peter Sserumaga – Executive Committee member Kampala
Patience Atuhaire – Executive Committee member Buganda
Ereb John Micheal – Executive Committee member North East
Morris Muhindo – Executive Committee member Kitara
Abbey Ssentongo Donaca – Member
Francis Mugoya – Member
Warren Akankwasa Rutanga – Member.
John Bosco Masiko – Honorary  Chairman

*FUFA UYFA Delegates:
Roberts Kiwanuka and Mansoor Kabugo – Secretariat
Ssalongo Kigongo Shafic Chief Executive – Officer
Kenedy Ssekabira – Deputy Chief Executive Officer

*Media Committee:
Mbuga Swaibu, Martin Kaddu and Alex Kasirye

*Events Departments:
Lubega Robert, Joel Muwanguzi and Denis Namanya

*Football Development:
Kigongo Farouk, Sharon Achieng, Bashir Mutyaba and Papira Anthony

*Competitions Committee:
Kakeeto Ibrahim, Sserumaga Peter, Kabugo Mansoor and Moses Mawa

*Youth Coaches:
Christine Wanyana, Ssali Ronald, Salim Twaha Blanden and Zimula Fahad

*Legal Committee:
Counsel Patience Atuhaire, Counsel Derrick Lutalo and Hajji Jafali Ssenganda

*Finance Committee:
Batuuse Gad, Abbey Ssenttongo Donaca, Sarah Birungi and Mukasa Naftal

*Girls Football Development:
Mubiru Yasin, Fridah Mabeeri and Betty Mayanja

*Marketing Commission:
Akankwaasa Warren, Ronald Alonso and Mugoya Francis.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here