Home Football CECAFA U23: Kobs in do or die contest against Tanzania

CECAFA U23: Kobs in do or die contest against Tanzania

The Kobs must win to reach the last four of the competition. (PHOTO/FUFA)

CECAFA U23 Challenge Cup
Tanzania vs Uganda
Bahir Dar International Stadium, Ethiopia
Saturday, 24-07-2021 @4pm

Uganda will take on Tanzania in what will be a group defining contest on Saturday afternoon at the 2021 CECAFA U23 Challenge Cup.

After drawing 0-0 against DR Congo in their opening game, Uganda must win so as to reach the semi finals.

For Tanzania, the need to avoid defeat to confirm their last four spot. Tanzania defeated DR Congo 1-0 in their opening game on Wednesday.

The first game for Uganda against DR Congo was a frustrating contest for the technical team as the team created chances, especially in the first half, but the strikers failed to put them away.

With a place in the last four at stake, Byekwaso is expected to make changes to the team so as to ensure the ball can go into the back of the net.

Byekwaso’s side will be without injured playmaker Steven Sserwadda who is expected to be replaced by Bright Anukani.

Despite the situation, Byekwaso is optimistic about his side’s chances.

“We had a good last training and the boys have all been extra active with a lot of determination. He said on Thursday.

“This will be our last group game which we are supposed to win at all costs. Tanzania is a very good, fearless side which we saw play yesterday. However, we saw some things about them and we will be hoping to exploit their weaknesses.

“It is going to be a do or die game because we both want to go through as leaders of the group.

The full squad in Ethiopia

Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Saidi Keni (SC Villa), Dennis Otim (Express FC).


Enock Walusimbi (Express FC), Abdu Aziizi Kayondo (Vipers SC), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Kenneth Ssemakula (BUL FC), Magambo Peter (KCCA FC), Gavin Kizito (SC Villa).


Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Abdul Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), , Steven Sserwadda (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (KCCA FC), Salim Abdallah (SC Villa).


Mukwala Stephen Dese (URA FC), Ivan Bogere (Wakiso Giants FC), Saddam Masereka (SC Villa), Julius Poloto (KCCA FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Hakim Kiwanuka (Proline FC), Derrick Kakooza (Police FC), Samuel Ssenyonjo (KCCA FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here